Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
super good meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Excellent recipe. Meat is tender and the gravy, made according to the Dec. 19, 2003 review by DREGINEK is light and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This was absolutely amazing. You MUST follow the recipe EXACTLY. I was very tempted to fiddle with it, but I forced myself to be precise, and I'm glad I did! What's left is not much of a gravy, so I did add cornstarch and chicken stock to the drippings and onions to increase the volume and thickness of the gravy. Excellent recipe, very simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Huber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Really good! Changes: Rubbed a mixture of salt, Jane's Crazy Mixed Up Salt, Fresh ground pepper, Garlic powder + Montreal steak seasoning into meat before searing in extra virgin olive oil. Used 3 bay leaves and 3 crushed garlic cloves. Before adding the garlic + onion to stoneware roasting pan, I cooked them on low in the remaining drippings from dutch oven. This was an important step, I think. Then, I added 2 T worchestershire sauce + 2 C beef buillon to the meat/ onion/ garlic/ bay leaf mixture. Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This was a disaster. i would've given it one star if I hadn't added carrots and celery to the bottom of the pot and a tsp of bouillon instead of salt--meaning I changed the recipe. But I don't believe these changes were enough to turn out a dry tough roast. I read so many reviews and listened to those that said do not change a thing. I figured I'll start from there and make changes next time. The change I'm making is to NEVER make another roast in my life. In an attempt to save the expensive grass fed beef from going into the garbage, today I put the thinly sliced leftovers right back in the oven @ 250 degrees for 4 1/2 hours--in the gravy I had made with some extra water to keep it submerged. At least now it's tender and falling apart easily and with a new batch of gravy I'll be able to disguise the dryness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I followed the instructions exactly and found the meat tough. I cook the exact same piece of meat in the slow cooker and it is always perfect and tender. I tried this because I did not have time for the slow cooker but I think I am back to slow cooking. There was plenty of liquid produced by the meat and the gravy was excellent. Did not need to add liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ed Denmat
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
5 mega-stars! Followed the original recipe and its by far the best roast I've ever made. I'd never go back to a crock pot and/or broth. Satisfying and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed Denmat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Yup, do it exactly as written, turns out perfect. I would not change a thing! Soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bloomingdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mcallen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
this was simple and delicios, i added large russet potatos to the dutch oven and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
AMAZING RECIPE! I added beef broth thinking that it might of been to dry and everything turned out delightful :D I will most certainly make this meal again! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bonbon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States