Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Just made this roast according to the recipe. It was very flavorful and the gravy, awesome. I made a 2 lb roast cooked @ 325° F for 1/2 hour and @ 300° F for 45 mins. The internal temp was at 170°. Browned the roast as directed in my cast iron dutch oven. Removed the browned roast tossed into the hot pan the sliced onions and garlic. A quick stir and returned roast to the pan. Added carrots and potatoes around to cook in the oven. Seasoned everything with steak seasoning. Everything turned out great. Although I thought the potatoes tasted a bit like carrots. I was surprised that this produced a good amount of juice. I have always made my roast with a inch or so of water added before the oven. This tasted so much better and the potatoes were nicely roasted. To the gravy I added 1 cup of water and a bouillon cube, to stretch it, we like our gravy. To thicken I stirred in 1/4 cup flour mixed with a little water. Great recipe, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Terrific recipe. The roast I used was half a pound smaller than was called for by this recipe so I should have reduced the cooking time. Because I didn't it was a little dry, though not bad. I think if you follow this recipe exactly, including the weight of the meat, it would be perfect. I'll definitely make this again. It smelled heavenly while it was cooking and the taste of the gravy it made was fantastic. I used a garlic paste instead of minced garlic and would suggest that you try that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Croton Cher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I loved this recipe and made it as is, not changing a thing. It was easy, used very few ingredients and came out absolutely perfect. One of the best roasts I've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Awesome. The only thing I did differently was add some sprigs of rosemary. Yummy! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Easy recipe, great flavor. Just needed to cook longer than suggested in the recipe directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Great recipe. For 2 lb. roast cooked for 30 min. @325 and 30 min. @300.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Guys I haven't even tasted it and it is making my house smell divine. My husband is going to love coming home from work today :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaureenB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Followed the recipe to a T against my better judgment...boy, was I glad I did. No way was I expecting it to make some much of it's own juices. I was scared to put in dry, to be honest. My roast was only 2lbs, so I pulled it out 20 minutes early, but otherwise didn't change a thing. Thanks, this one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Excellent and simple. It takes very little effort to have a moist and flavorful beef entree. Both times I've made this I covered the beef loosely with foil inside my covered roaster pan. First time I made this, I took the juices and made a gravy. Second time, removed cooked beef and added 1 can condensed French onion soup (14 oz) and 1/2 can water to the juices/onions/garlic remaining in roaster. (I added the soup and water because I wanted au jus but didn't have nearly enough liquid from the beef this time.) Brought to a simmer on the stove for 10 minutes. Strained all plus scrapings through wire strainer, drained off fat; wonderful au jus for meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This is a very good, very simple recipe! I made it for Christmas dinner & my boyfriend really liked it! The only changes I made were marinating the roast for a few hours before searing the meat. I also added mushrooms & beef broth to my French oven to help flavor the roast as it cooked. It was delicious!!! Thanks for this wonderful recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States