Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
We really enjoyed this dish. The prep was quick and easy and the result was moist, flavorful and delicious. I added vegetables for the final 1.5 hours and used some seasonings on the roast itself, otherwise I followed the recipe. I will use this recipe whenever I'm in the mood for pot roast. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Hope Hard Wilkens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Best Pot Roast recipe ever....very easy...followed directions to a T.....excellent!! Roasted carrots in the oven....much better than adding them to the roast pan....had plenty of juice for gravy and meat was very tender....love love love this recipe!! Thank you so much for posting it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Very good standard recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Butterscotchbeauty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
my sons raved over this, said it was the best dinner ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
It was wonderful. I added veggies ontop to cook. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I had about a little over 3lb boneless chuck but cooked it exactly the way the recipe stated. I followed some of the reviews and added green beans, potatoes and carrots cubes during the last hour. I don't have a Dutch oven so I seared the meat on top of a frying pan and transferred it to a Corningware ceramic casserole dish and put it in the oven. I covered with a foil and cooked away. The dish turned out really good, very flavorful. My fiance and company loved it. Although I would have liked it more if it was more tender but it still satisfied everyone's hunger. I had plenty of leftover and it was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Great aroma and taste! I didnt have time to sear the meat - just put the olive oil and other ingredients in the dutch oven. Cooked at 325 for 2 hours. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I made this recipe a few years ago and I could not remember where I found it. My husband has raved about it ever since! I finally decided to search on this site and I FOUND IT!!! He is begging me to make it again tomorrow for Sunday dinner. I can't wait! This is the BEST recipe for roast we have ever had!!! I did not change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Nenow Hildebrand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Flavor could have been better. I followed directions to a T and regret it and wish I'd added celery with the onions and garlic. My beef came out tough and chewy but in fairness I did NOT use a chuck roast, I used Top Round and they always suck. I have to stop buying them, I guess. Or just made noodle soup out of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikolette T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I hate to rate this only 3 stars but I checked the meat after only 55 minutes, 35 minutes short of the recommended time and my roast was already 190 degrees (well-done). We live at 7,000' elevation so maybe that is why the meat cooked so fast, not sure, but the meat was barely edible. I was thinking maybe I was suppose to lower the temp to 200, not 300. Oh well, I also cooked some carrots, potatoes and celery in the pot and they came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 392) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States