Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This recipe made the best pot roast I have ever cooked. I only deviated slightly and used the seasoning mix I always use on beef instead of just salt and pepper and I cut slits in the roast to insert garlic slivers after searing on all sides and I did not use the bay leaves. Other than that, I seared and roasted as directed. When the roast was done, I removed it from the pan and added a cup of beef broth to the drippings and thickened with a bit of corn starch for gravy. The roast was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Well, sorry, but...four stars because not much flavorwise. Not that I want to mask meat flavor but this could use a little something more. I always sear the meat 1st but...I make a salt free blend (like Emerils Essence) and season first. After watching an episode of 'Good Eats' (Alton Brown) I use the technique using HD foil to wrap the roast in. I put the onions, garlic, bay leaf, S & P on top. For me this allows the flavors to cook down into the meat vs meat sitting on top. I place foil wrapped roast in baking pan just in case some juice leaks out. Once it's done & still wrapped, cut a hole in one corner (over a pot) and let juices drain out for making gravy & leave the roast wrapped up while resting. Mine turns out ultra moist and tender every time. Oh, and I sear meat in bacon drippings vs olive oil. A decent and basic recipe for pot roast you can easily perk up with more herbs or spices of your choice. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Simple & delicious! I just stick it in the Crock Pot on low for about 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Very simple and very yummy. I didn't cook my roast as long b/c it was smaller. I think next time I'll add some baby carrots to the pot towards the end of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JesshThom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This is the best and easiest pot roast. I cooked it exactly like it said. I added one cut up red, yellow and russet potato each on top of the meat about an hour before it was done. There is enough meat left for a small sandwich! If you are going to make this and want leftovers, make a bigger roast! My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I make my roast this way all the time now and it always turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Very moist and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I'll never understand why someone will give a recipe a lower rating if the IGNORE THE RECIPE. I have tried many recipies for pot roast, and this one came out the best by far. DON'T season the roast before searing. This goes against most recipies I've seen, but that's why the others were all dry. This one came out perfect. Nothing needs changing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
It was kind of bland....not a lot of flavor...not sure if I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
My family LOVES this dish- one of our favorite comfort foods! I don't change a thing- except, I add cut up potatoes and baby carrots 45 minutes before it is finished cooking. The seasonings, onion and garlic flavor the veggies too so you have a complete meal. And, I add a little cornstarch or flour to the pan juices to make a very tasty gravy! thanks Teresa!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 409) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States