Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Nice and easy. Always looking for recipe without all the veggies, for when I am out of veggies or don't want to chop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I modified this recipe slightly to meet our needs. I was out of bay leaves, so I omitted those, but the flavor wasn't terribly affected. Half an hour before the roast was to come out of the oven, I added some chopped up potatoes and a can of diced tomatoes with green chiles, and my husband raved about the mild kick and flavor the chiles gave it. Very tender, juicy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Perfect pot roast. I made it exactly as the recipe said and it came out melt in your mouth tender and perfectly seasoned. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
It came out awesome :)!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This recipe made the best pot roast I have ever cooked. I only deviated slightly and used the seasoning mix I always use on beef instead of just salt and pepper and I cut slits in the roast to insert garlic slivers after searing on all sides and I did not use the bay leaves. Other than that, I seared and roasted as directed. When the roast was done, I removed it from the pan and added a cup of beef broth to the drippings and thickened with a bit of corn starch for gravy. The roast was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Well, sorry, but...four stars because not much flavorwise. Not that I want to mask meat flavor but this could use a little something more. I always sear the meat 1st but...I make a salt free blend (like Emerils Essence) and season first. After watching an episode of 'Good Eats' (Alton Brown) I use the technique using HD foil to wrap the roast in. I put the onions, garlic, bay leaf, S & P on top. For me this allows the flavors to cook down into the meat vs meat sitting on top. I place foil wrapped roast in baking pan just in case some juice leaks out. Once it's done & still wrapped, cut a hole in one corner (over a pot) and let juices drain out for making gravy & leave the roast wrapped up while resting. Mine turns out ultra moist and tender every time. Oh, and I sear meat in bacon drippings vs olive oil. A decent and basic recipe for pot roast you can easily perk up with more herbs or spices of your choice. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Simple & delicious! I just stick it in the Crock Pot on low for about 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Very simple and very yummy. I didn't cook my roast as long b/c it was smaller. I think next time I'll add some baby carrots to the pot towards the end of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JesshThom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This is the best and easiest pot roast. I cooked it exactly like it said. I added one cut up red, yellow and russet potato each on top of the meat about an hour before it was done. There is enough meat left for a small sandwich! If you are going to make this and want leftovers, make a bigger roast! My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I make my roast this way all the time now and it always turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 413) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States