Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
a lil salty but delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
OMG!!! 1st off, I used a 2.75 chuck roast (boneless) then followed the recipe to T. Though, I was not sure if I was to season the onion & garlic mixture or the meat, so I did both without measuring. I was a bit worried about it not being flavorful, I love BIG flavor. This came out incredible!!! I just wish I had made the 4 lb roast. I can't stand the crock pot method, not sure if I'm doing something wrong, but mine always comes out dry & stringy. This was nothing like that! I will never make a pot roast any other way! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Simple to make and it turned out very delicious. Made it's own juice which I made wonderful gravy with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I was looking for a different way to cook a roast without the usual potatoes and carrots, and this fit the bill. The recipe was followed to the letter, and the house smelled wonderful! My "meat and potatoes" country boy loved it. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bishopville, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Definitely added to my favorites. This was the best roast I have ever made. I made it in a cast iron dutch oven and followed the instructions EXACTLY and it was PERFECT! Do not change a thing. The roast was tender and juicy. The searing, which was super easy, made it look beautiful. And my favorite part of the whole thing was the gravy that the roast made in the bottom of the pan....OMG, it was delicious. I can't stop eating it. It reminds of this barvarion onion soup that I get at this German restuarant. Yumm. Thanks for posting, Teresa. And if you are considering making.....Do it! You will not regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarriedSAHMof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Count me among the many cooks who said this is perfect! No reason to try other recipes; this is the easiest recipe that results in a roast that is moist and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This is the best pot roast ever. I use to make pot roast in the crockpot and although it would come out tender, it seemed like all the flavor was sucked out of the meat. This recipe keeps it simple and allows the true taste of the meat to shine through. The broth makes a wonderful gravy and the meat is so moist and full of flavor. I agree with others who have posted not to add any liquid. I think if you add liquid to begin with it is kind of like boiling the meat rather than baking it. If you have not tried this recipe yet, do it, you will be happy you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
My mother asked me for the recipe and said my roast was better than hers! Follow the directions exactly, no need to add extra liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I made this tonight hubby said it was the BEST pot roast he had ever had. I wouldn't change a thing it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CDMETZNER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Exeter, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Uh uh uhhh! This recipe was wonderful! I just bought a chuck roast and needed to know a good way to prepare it. Mine turned out juicy and flavorful. I added potatoes and carrots prior to cooking and additional salt and pepper for the veggies. I also have a very hot oven and reduced both the heat (to 315) and cook time by 15 min. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 387) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States