Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
My first successful pot roast after many attempts! I followed the simple recipe exactly; the meat is tender and the sauce, which reminds me of onion soup, is awesome. I'll try adding one more onion and a little more salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This was fantastic! I have never been able to make pot roast without a crockpot. otherwise it is dry, overcooked etc. I added a little bit of red wine to the onions and mushrooms and abotu a Tbs of brown gravy mix to thicken(after cooking). I also added some mushrooms with the onions. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
GREAT! wish some changes. I used a chuck roast and after searing, I put roast on onion mixture for 30 min. then added carrots & potatoes and covered it with a mixture of : 1 can french onion soup, 1 envelope onion soup mix and 2 tbs. worcestershire sauce. Finished cooking @ 300 for 1 1/2 hrs. removed meat & vegies then thickened liquid with a little cornstarch. EXCELLENT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Byron, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Very Simple and very good! I always seem to over cook beef roasts!, but this turned out excellent! I had a 5.5 lb. roast so i cooked it 30 mins. longer, but i should have taken it out after 1.5 hours...my mistake, but it still was juicy and tender. I do believe the searing is the key, like others have said! I will use this as my pot roast recipe for now! I may not even tell how i got the recipe...and just call it my own! LOL Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I'm not a big fan of pot roast but I LOVED this. The kids loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Great roast and so easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Nice and easy. Always looking for recipe without all the veggies, for when I am out of veggies or don't want to chop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I modified this recipe slightly to meet our needs. I was out of bay leaves, so I omitted those, but the flavor wasn't terribly affected. Half an hour before the roast was to come out of the oven, I added some chopped up potatoes and a can of diced tomatoes with green chiles, and my husband raved about the mild kick and flavor the chiles gave it. Very tender, juicy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Perfect pot roast. I made it exactly as the recipe said and it came out melt in your mouth tender and perfectly seasoned. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
It came out awesome :)!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 399) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States