Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I was looking for a different pot roast recipe. I have relied on the crock pot for many years and wanted an oven pot roast recipe. I followed this recipe nearly exactly. I did cut a few slits in the beef after I braised it and put in slivers of garlic prior to roasting. I didn't have a big enough dutch oven so I used a roasting pan and covered it tightly with heavy duty foil. After the meat had cooked 1 1/2 hrs, there was plenty of liquid. I removed 1 1/2 cups of liquid to make the gravy and then I added quartered potatoes and carrots. I baked the beef and vegetables (still tightly covered) at 350 degrees for another hour. I made the gravy by adding 1 1/2 cups of beef bouillion and thickened it with flour. My family RAVED about this pot roast! It was tender and flavorful and the vegetables were cooked just right. This will be the last roast beef recipe I will ever use! Thanks Theresa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This was so delicious! The meat was so tender and truly divine. I seasoned the meat before browning with salt, pepper, and garlic powder. I padded it down and let it sit so it would absorb the seasons. It had great flavor. I added potatoes, carrots, parsnips, onions, and garlic to the pan, along with a can of beef broth and 1/2 can of water. This did not dry out the meat at all. Everything tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARBEAR613

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This is the perfect pot roast recipe without changing a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Valdez, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Made for dinner last night. Delicious, family loved it. I cooked it another hour to keep it warm at 250 and it was so tender. Took the onions and mixed it with a gravy mix and combined it in a saucepan with a cup and a half of beef stock to go over the meat and fresh madhouse potatoes. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Gave this recipe five stars, one for each one of us who enjoyed it, and one for the fact that my one son who is very picky asked for seconds and my other son requested it for his special birthday meal. Followed the recipe, except I didn't have a dutch oven/pan to put it in, so I wrapped it all in foil in a casserole dish, and cooked accordingly. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I made a couple small changes. I sauteed the onions and garlic (quite a bit more garlic than what the recipe called for, I'm afraid) in the hot pan with a little butter before layering it in the bottom of the pan. I also added 1/2 cup quality beef broth and poured 1/4 cup burgundy wine over the roast before covering it (partially because a) I did not want a dry pan under my roast, I knew from experiance that you want some liquid in the pan to help cook the meat and b) I wanted to make a decent gravy from those juices. Kickstarting that flavor is always a plus). I did NOT add the additional salt. Absolutely delicious. The cooking directions were spot on for a medium-rare pot roast. Out of one whole roast, there's one plate full of leftovers to fight over tomorrow. We loved it. NOTE: Covering the roast is a MUST. You don't cover it, you will have a hockey puck instead of a roast. Take it from someone who did this once or twice when first making her own first roast.....or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I made this exactly as stated, and it was not to my liking ... so disappointing ... I should have stayed with the ol' crockpot ... it never fails me ....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
too dry, like a baseball mit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This was perfect! I agree with others DO NOT Change a thing! Very good..My roast was 3lbs so I cut back the time by 15 min..very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Calling this "Beef Pot Roast" is a bit like calling a Lamborghini a "vehicle," or the Mona Lisa a "picture." Maybe "Beef Ambrosia" is more fitting. No disagreement with any of the stellar reviews. This is a celebration of wholesome goodness, of simpler times before dinner meant grabbing take-out, a pizza, or fast food. The flavor is that of the beef without adornment. I made it almost verbatim. I had found two thick top round steaks which I had bought longer ago than I care to mention here, languishing in my chest freezer. They came to 4+ pounds altogether. So the cut was substituted for chuck. After browning, I stacked them in the Dutch oven. I simply cut the cooking time by 30 minutes, since top round is a much leaner and more tender cut than chuck. Fabulous! The meat was fork-tender. Whereas calling the resulting liquid "gravy" is a stretch, turning it into such was a simple matter of whisking 3 Tb of flour into about 4 Tb beef stock, adding to the pan liquid, and simmering for 10 minutes. Poured over the meat with braised carrots and sauteed mushrooms, nestled lovingly on a cushy bed of homemade spaetzle, it was a meal fit for a sultan. Ladies, if there's a man in your life you'd like to marry, make him this dish. He'll follow you anywhere and be yours for LIFE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 121-130 (of 411) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States