Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
My husband said, "He couldn't have ordered a better meal in a restaurant." Given my lacking culinary abilities and his finicky palate, this was quite the compliment! This recipe makes a beautiful presentation and the juices and onion and garlic makes it's own gravy/sauce. The key to it not coming out dry (as one reviewer complained) is searing the meat for the full 4 minutes on each side. I set the kitchen timer and left it alone. Also do not add salt (just like the recipe states) until the meat is seared. This keeps the juices from running. I was also able to use a less expensive piece of meat and it turned out fabulously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
550 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
I tried this recipe on my first attempt at pot roast, mostly because the technique seemed easy. But I put my own touches on it. I used the chuck roast and seasoned it w/ salt, pepper, garlic powder, and a little italian seasoning. Make sure you sear the meat well, but not burned. After searing, I put the onions in the pot with a diced bell pepper, a few cut up baby carrots, a can of sliced mushrooms, a dash of Worcestershire, and half a can of beef broth. I let it come to a boil, then put the roast back in the pot and put it in the oven. Last thing was to thicken the liquid with a little flour. This pot roast tasted so homemade, my husband and daughter cleaned up for me! Make sure that you add some type off liquid (broth, wine, water, or combination), otherwise yours will be very dry. Hope this helps, I now have a pot roast recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
549 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2000
This is one of the first recipes I found on allrecipes.com several years ago and I've been making it ever since. My recommendation: DON'T CHANGE ANYTHING. When people complain that it's tough, but they added water, it's their own fault! Don't add water or broth. Don't add potatoes or carrots. Don't even change the amounts on the salt and pepper. Just do exactly what the recipe says and you will be happy with the results! I always am...but when I don't follow it exacyly, I'm disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
466 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This was a big hit with my family! I did make a few changes and it was juicy, delicious, and flavorful. I seared it on all sides, 4 min. each side. Meanwhile, on the bottom of my Dutch Oven I put carrots, celery, 4 cloves of garlic, onion wedges,and quartered potatoes. I made a rub of lemon pepper, garlic salt, pepper and paprika. After searing, using disposable gloves, I rubbed the seasonings on all sides of the roast. I also stuck 5 cloves of garlic in slits in the roast. I added 1/2 can of beef broth over the vegies. Covered tightly with heavy alum. foil and cooked following the recipe. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
220 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeri Schulman Davini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA
Living In: Buena Park, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I picked this recipe because I wanted a plain pot roast without added vegetables, wine, beef broth etc. -- a recipe that allows one to savor the flavor of the beef. This is it! Followed the recipe as given, although my chuck roast was only 3 lbs. The roast came out very juicy and tender with a delicious flavor. There was a lot of juice in the pan, but it's a stretch to call it 'gravy'. You'll have to thicken and season it to get a traditional brown gravy but there's plenty of juice to work with. For those who have problems, two suggestions: 1) chuck roast is one of the cheapest beef roast cuts and I've only been satisfied when purchased at a good butcher shop. The one's found in the grocery store usually cook up pretty tough and/or dry. I've also had good luck with chuck roasts from Whole Foods. 2) Make sure your roaster/dutch oven has a tight fitting lid AND is sized for the roast. If the lid is loose or you use a roaster that holds a 25 lb turkey, the pot roast will turn out dry. Great and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MuscleMan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
This was excellent...but I'm happier with the success of the gravy that was produced from this!! Thanks to the tips from the "gals" (wink) I added some beef broth to ensure moisture, and per another reviewer, added 1/2 pkg dry onion soup mix. I did have to thicken a little by adding some cornstarch (very little) but I assume its b/c I added a little too much beef broth. Excellent taste, texture and overall, was much easier than I thought it would be!! Very excited to make this again!! Thanks Teresa!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
My family loved everything about this recipe. The flavor was outstanding. I agree with others, FOLLOW THE RECIPE AS WRITTEN. Go ahead and add some other spices per your taste but sear the meat as directed and then season. I added some flour to the strained meat drippings and the gravy was wonderful. My hubby commented that it was the best roast I've ever made. I normally do a roast in the crockpot but not anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEXI70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
Great recipe! I used about a 3 1/2 lb Boneless Chuck Roast and I cut away the largest parts of fat. I seared the meat as directed and added 2 cups of beef broth (I use the powdered bouillon, so I used 2 packets to make the 2 cups of broth) and put it in the oven for the first 30 minutes. When I turned down the temp, I added the seasoning and veggies. I used 1 onion, about 2 teaspoons chopped garlic, 1 green bell pepper, 1 whole bunch of celery, baby carrots, red potatoes and 1 packet Onion Mushroom Soup Mix. I seasoned the meat with pepper, Tony Chachere's Seasoning, Worchestershire and a shaking of red pepper flakes. I didn't use the bay leaves. I just covered the Dutch Oven with foil and let it go for the next 1 1/2 hour. It was FABULOUS!!! I can't wait to eat it tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, Texas, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2002
This recipe is FANTASTIC!! Easily the best pot roast I've ever made! This also freezes quite well - just cool and slice and package with a little of the "gravy" in a freezer zip-top bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I made a couple small changes. I sauteed the onions and garlic (quite a bit more garlic than what the recipe called for, I'm afraid) in the hot pan with a little butter before layering it in the bottom of the pan. I also added 1/2 cup quality beef broth and poured 1/4 cup burgundy wine over the roast before covering it (partially because a) I did not want a dry pan under my roast, I knew from experiance that you want some liquid in the pan to help cook the meat and b) I wanted to make a decent gravy from those juices. Kickstarting that flavor is always a plus). I did NOT add the additional salt. Absolutely delicious. The cooking directions were spot on for a medium-rare pot roast. Out of one whole roast, there's one plate full of leftovers to fight over tomorrow. We loved it. NOTE: Covering the roast is a MUST. You don't cover it, you will have a hockey puck instead of a roast. Take it from someone who did this once or twice when first making her own first roast.....or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States