Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Loved this ! The more color you get on the sear, the more flavor your roast will have. And a cast iron skillet is perfect for this recipe, as it goes from stove top to oven and the cast iron will get you a sear that no other pan can. When you're plating this, scoop up a generous portion of the onions and garlic off the bottom of the pan and serve them over some great mashed potatoes. They were the absolute best part of this !!! One warning: Watch the roast weight. I did a 2 pound but failed to reduce the cooking time as the original recipe is written for a 4 pound roast. It came a bit overdone (still delicious) but that was entirely MY fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This beats the heck out of the slow cooker! My meat was tender and the juice at the bottom of my dutch over was a terrific au jus once I drained the onion and added some red wine. A simple, perfect way to cook your roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Just made this last night and let me tell you it was sooooo good. It was so juicy and flavorful. Also, as another reviewer stated, I had no problem with dryness. I washed my pot roast b4 I used it and dried it with a paper towel. After that I just put them into my Dutch oven and let them sit on each side for 4 minutes (timed) I did not touch them, except when added my seasonings to them while cooking which is onion powder, accent, worchestershire sauce and pepper. Instead of using 2 garlic cloves I used one large and then some minced garlic I had in the Fridge. I left them in the Dutch oven (stovetop) and put that in the oven. I cooked them covered for about 20 minutes and the rest of the time was uncovered. This combination of things made it's own juice/sauce and it was sooo good. Also I didn't have bay leaves so I left that out...didn't miss them at all. Thanks for this recipe && I don't even like Pot Roast but this was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
The best pot roast ever. I added vegetables & it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
My husband made this today with 2 changes, he put all the onions and garlic on top with the bay leaf and added 2 pats of butter. SUPER TENDER. WHOLE FAMILY DELIGHTED!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This cooked up wonderfully! Searing it properly is the key to a moist roast. Make sure you get all 4 sides. I didn't have any bay leaves, so I omitted them. I DID add sliced mushrooms to the pan with the onions. Family couldn't stop raving about the perfect roast I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bonner Springs, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
super good meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Excellent recipe. Meat is tender and the gravy, made according to the Dec. 19, 2003 review by DREGINEK is light and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This was absolutely amazing. You MUST follow the recipe EXACTLY. I was very tempted to fiddle with it, but I forced myself to be precise, and I'm glad I did! What's left is not much of a gravy, so I did add cornstarch and chicken stock to the drippings and onions to increase the volume and thickness of the gravy. Excellent recipe, very simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Huber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Really good! Changes: Rubbed a mixture of salt, Jane's Crazy Mixed Up Salt, Fresh ground pepper, Garlic powder + Montreal steak seasoning into meat before searing in extra virgin olive oil. Used 3 bay leaves and 3 crushed garlic cloves. Before adding the garlic + onion to stoneware roasting pan, I cooked them on low in the remaining drippings from dutch oven. This was an important step, I think. Then, I added 2 T worchestershire sauce + 2 C beef buillon to the meat/ onion/ garlic/ bay leaf mixture. Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 387) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States