Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
This roast beef was the best I have ever made. My roast was just a bit under four pounds. I did not change a thing except I made this in my deep cast iron skillet with the lid. The flavor was absolutely delicious. I had never used bay leaves before, maybe that made the difference. I did not take the lid off until the time was up and it was perfect. My new recipe for roast beef. Thank you for sharing this great recipe Teresa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Lloyd Pearce

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
It was certainly simple and easy. The gravy from the drippings was tasty but the roast was just a chunk of meat. It wasn't completely tasteless but it needed a heck of a lot more flavor. The family thought that we wasted a good piece of meat that could have been slow cooked in a wine or some other sauce. It reminded me of the roasts my parent's used to make for Sunday dinner quite often. My father was a pretty good cook, however, his roast cooking lacked a little something. This recipe is alright if you like your meat simple, solid, and there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Fantastic and great tasting. My husband loved it too! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sanatoga, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
I had a little over 2 lbs of the Beef Chuck Roast. I did what one reviewer said which I added a couple splashes of Worcestershire sauce and about 1/4 cup red wire. It turned out great! While the roast was resting, I added about 1/2 cup of beef broth and one teaspoon (in 1/4 cup water) into the pot. The gravy was great and just enough for the mash potatoes and beef. My hubby loved it. Will make this again. So easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I have to give 5 stars because I don't even enjoy this cut of meat. HOWEVER, this was SO TENDER and *flavorful!- see the following: I seasoned and browned the meat, then removed. I added onions to the same pot with some butter and 2 bay leaves, after 5 min added some garlic then after another 5 min I added Worcestershire sauce and used cooking sherry, only because I didn't have any red wine. I let this cook a bit longer to caramelize the onions a bit. I put the meat back in and popped in the oven 350/30 min then 300 for 70 min since I had a 2.4# slab of meat. After it was cooked I removed the meat and thickened up the juices for a nice gravy. Thank you I can now feed my husband for a little less $!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erica
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
First time making a pot roast with such simple ingredients. I cooked the onions, bay leaf, and other ingredients prior to searing the meat. Then seared the meat and put all the mixed ingredients after I took off the meat. The meat came out soooo soft and moist. It was delicious and my husband and kids loved it. Best meal ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
First time I followed it exactly and it came out perfect, though no "gravy" the onions are almost caramelized and packed with flavor. Though tempting don't put in extra veggies- the added moisture from them is too much in the pot which overcooks the roast (made this mistake the second time). For smaller roasts (~2 lbs) I cut 10 minutes off both oven times (so 20 min @ 325 and 1:20 @ 300) and it comes out great, still fully cooked through but not tough/overdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
We Absolutely LOVED it!!! It was a very simple Easy to follow Resipe And So Dee-Lish!!! Great Site w/ Awesome recipes, I have a New Fav. ^_^ TYSM for sharing the resipe 4 All 2 Enjoy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Made it tonight. It was a pretty basic recipe. I followed & have to agree with some of the other raters, it needed more, POW of something. Seasoning was lost, & yes, I too think wine would of been good in the pan as it baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 411) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States