Beef Pot Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I had a whole ribeye steak left over from yesterday's BBQ dinner and looked for a recipe to use it in today. The idea of a beef pot pie sounded fabulous so I printed this one off! I thought that a beef gravy sounded tastier instead of corn starch and beef broth; just a personal taste. So what I did was use a beef gravy package! I steamed some garden fresh chopped carrots and onion, small cubed potatoes and sliced celery. I salted and peppered those veggies once they were tender. Then I cubed up the BBQ'd ribeye which had already been seasoned with salt, pepper and garlic powder when it was BBQ'd. I placed the chopped steak and the steamed veggies in a bowl and mixed them up and then after stirring the dried, crushed thyme into the hot gravy, I put the veggies and steak into the deep dish pie plate and poured the gravy on top and then placed the pie crust on top. Baked as in the recipe at 400F for 35 minutes. Let it rest for 20 minutes when done. The flavors were scrumptious and a five star, for sure. I don't normally change recipes and then rate them but I just wanted to share this outcome as it was just so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice Davidson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
It was really bland even after adding garlic powder sage salt-and-pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I started with leftover pot roast and potatoes and carrots that I cooked with it. I pre-cooked the bottom crust. I used 8 oz. of the pot roast, 1C carrots, 1C potatoes, and 1 C peas. I used a combination of chicken gravy I had and some beef soup base and a bit of leftover pot roast mushroom gravy with a little corn starch and had about 3C thickened gravy. Everything had already been well-seasoned when first cooked with garlic, bay leaves, thyme, salt and pepper, so I just heated everything on the stove to a slow boil, dumped it in the crust, added the top crust, and baked for 45 minutes. It's much quicker to throw this together from leftovers, and it is very delicious!!! It's also very easy to change based on what's on hand or individual preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I used a blade roast and while it was simmering I added 2 bay leaves. I didn't use the beef broth or frozen peas because I didn't have either on hand so I used onion, celery and carrots. With a little salt and pepper I found it was quite tasty. My hubby ate as a stew for two days and loved it then I made pie crust and made meat pies for him to have when I work afternoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATKOMP

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecritic

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I used leftover roast so I was able to skip a step. Added some rosemary to the mix. I did have trouble getting my crust to brown enough. I would probably make this again if I have leftover beef but to me, then end result doesn't justify the trouble of starting completely from scratch. So, this won't be a ''go to" recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
This had a good home made taste and my whole family liked it. I added worcheshire, sirracha and some chopped onion and asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Loved this. Did not use the canned beef broth. Since the roast is getting cooked in water, it's easy to make gravy from this rather than canned broth. I threw in bay leaves, some dry onions and garlic (the last 2 cook down to mush, pretty much, but help flavor the meat as it simmered.) When I made the gravy, I removed the bay leaves. You could strain the liquid and remove fat, if you like. Figure a thin gravy ratio of 1 TBL cornstarch to thicken each cup of roast-cooking water you'd like to turn into gravy. Once the gravy thickens and I salt/pepper/season it to suit us, I combine with the meat and vegetables so I can make sure I have enough gravy before putting it in the shells. I follow another poster's suggestion to make from-scratch crusts and to pre-bake the bottom shell. I like to make this as a multiple-meal dish (ie Once a Month Cooking.) It can be done without crust if you can't be bothered, or with biscuit for a top crust. When freezing this for later meals, I PRECOOK until crust just starts to brown before freezing. This means that I only have to bake until hot (165 degrees in center) before serving. This also allows me to use the dish from frozen if I need to. There is some time penalty from frozen, but nothing like it would be if it had to COOK as well as thaw in the oven. Thawing first works better, but life is busy. Note: a layer of parchment paper under your bottom crust will allow you to remove the frozen pie from your baking dish for storage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keydancer
Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Big Lake, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
My husband gave this two thumbs up and said he would like to have it again...soon. I used cooked, cubed london broil that I had in the freezer so it only took a little over an hour to prepare and cook the pot pie. I don't like peas so I left them out and added one stalk of celery and three green onions, sliced. I also reduced the cornstarch and added three tablespoons of brown gravy mix to help thicken the broth and make it richer. It is a very adaptable recipe that allows you to add and delete vegetables to your taste. It was perfect comfort food on a cold, snowy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buzzingcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States