Beef Pho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Very authentic and really great tips in the comments too I think everything has been covered between the two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SiNgam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
excellent recipe! i made some changes... For the broth i used beef bones instead of oxtail and beef knuckle (too expensive), added some celeriac root dumped in 2 bouillon cubes as well as all the onions, daikon radish etc. i also had a tea ball and i put the spices in that. this soup tasted just like my mothers! awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Not bad for the first time making this. Family loved it. Use 1-2 anise only. Have to use beef bones which I forgot this time around. Overall pretty impressive for a noobie :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
This was great soup! I do think that 2 oz. of star anise is a misprint though because that was a huge amount, like 40 or so of them. I talked to someone from Vietnam who makes Pho all the time and she said that she only adds 2 star anise. Needless to say, I made it with the whole 2 oz and that flavor was a little overwhelming but still great. The next time I made it, I made it with chicken instead of beef and only 2 star anise and it was even better! I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Almost as good as I've had on the streets in Hanoi and Saigon. I roast my herbs in a dry wok before adding a home-made beef stock that cooks for 5+ hours, slowly. Taste at the end to add more fish sauce if needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONNASTEFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Awesome!!! Suggestions to make it easier is to use a pre-made Pho broth paste/mix. Also did not use any beef knuckles just oxtails. Tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
YUM! Was so happy with my first attempt at making pho... I even daresay that I liked this better than my favorite local Vietnamese restaurant's pho. The nice thing about this being from scratch, instead of using the premade spice packets is that you can adjust amounts of each spice to your own tastes. From past experience with recipes for other types of Asian noodle soups, our family personally isn't big on too much star anise, so for this first time I only used a few pods (plus, it was all I had left on hand and I didn't have time to make it to my local grocer that'd have it in stock). Used a little more ginger than called for and only made it for 1 gallon since I didn't want to make too much this first time around. I also didn't use daikon because I didn't have it on hand. Used grass-fed, pasture-raised beef knuckle from a local farm, no oxtail. Boiled on high for 15 minutes, then drained and rinsed to get rid of all the impurities (very little given the type of beef used). Then proceeded to simmer the stock on low for the given amount of time. I added some beef tendon and beefballs at the very end, since my kids all like it. For our family of 5 it was perfect and everyone loved it. My 21 m/o gobbled it all up. Flavor was awesome. Only change I'd make is I'd add a *little* bit more star anise, but that's it. This recipe's a keeper!! Can't wait to make it again! And bonus, my home smelled of that wonderful pho aroma for the rest of the evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChefFazer
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I quartered this recipe and it saved me from having to go to a restaurant every time I have a craving. I used chicken broth and a beef bullion cube instead of starting from scratch with beef knuckles (since it's what I had on hand) and I only simmered the spice bag for 1 hour instead of 4. It was still amazing. Now that I have all of the spices on hand I will definitely make this again. Thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefFazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I have never taken the time to make Pho the "real" way, but decided to try this one yesterday on a day off. I have a great recipe from Women's Health that I make all the time and only takes 30-45 min. My husband and I refer to it as "faux Pho". However, this one blew it out of the water. It's so worth the time, and truly not that difficult. The depth of rich flavor that comes from cooking down the bones and spices all day is incredible! I had no problem finding beef knuckle for dirt cheap at my market, thought eliminated the ox tail, as other reviews said its not necessary. Instead of sirloin I used skirt steak, I added soy sauce for salt, and reserved some Daikon and julienned it to use as a garnish. Not sure that I can go back to my quickie version now, may have to come up with some way of doing this in the crockpot for work nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I must have done something wrong as mine came out really bad. I followed the recipe, but our broth had no flavor. I ended up adding some beef soup base, which made it taste better. We love pho and I wanted to surprise my kids. This ended up to be a very expensive dinner that no one enjoyed. Next time we will stick to our local pho sho. Thanks for the recipe-just did not seem to work for me. I still can not figure out what I did wrong as this recipe has such high ratings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Pho

See how to make authentic South Vietnamese-style Pho noodle soup.

How to Make Pho

See how to make authentic Vietnamese pho.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States