Beef Paprika Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2001
Excellent. A little too salty for me, but the rest of the family thought it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2001
I love this recipe. It is my favorite meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
I received this recipe many years ago from a co worker I no longer can find. I was thrilled to find this! This is one of my favorite recipes with just a hint of spiciness. You have got to try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
YUM! If I could give this more stars I would! We just LOVED this dish! Super quick, easy and tasty! I used tenderized extra lean stew meat in place of the lean beef chuck, and this cut the cook time by 1/2! I also cut back the salt to 1 tsp, which was plenty. I used 1/2 cup olive oil instead of shortening (personal pref) and did not need to add any water or flour! There was plenty of juice in the pan once all the other ingredients were added in. Wonderful aroma while cooking! Pretty presentation! Served with stiff mashed potatoes and salad! Thanks for a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
Any time I make this, I make it in the crockpot. It gives the meat so much tenderness, and I don't even brown the meat- I found that I can reduce the fat content by omitting the shortening. When I make this in the crockpot (to serve TWO people) , I use 3/4 cups water, 1/4 cup ketchup, 1 tsp brown sugar 3/4 tsp paprika 3/4 tsp worchestershire sauce 1/2 tsp salt 1/4 dijon mustard, 2 garlic cloves minced, dash of cayenne pepper. I mix the sauce together and pour over the beef stew meat and cook on high for about 6 hours. Sometimes I will take some of the leftover sauce, and will whisk in some flour to make a gravy, and will serve the meat and gravy on top of boiled egg noodles or spaetzle. This is a great dish for those nippy fall or winter evenings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
A great comfort food dish when served over long grain rice(please don't use instant). I used about 1/3 cup of olive oil instead of the shortening,reduced the salt to 1 tsp and did not make any other changes. Leave the brown sugar in, it is not that sweet. Taste even better warmed up the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
This recipe is comfort food. It's nice to have a subtle dinner, that isn't bursting with flavor sometimes. My family loved it, I cooked it in my turbo cooker, and just used it as a conventional skillet, and the stew beef fell apart. Next time I will add a little more water to start with though, I like more gravy. Also a recipe I had similar to this had pieces of carrot in it so I have put in large pieces of carrots which adds a little more depth to the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2002
This was excellent! Replaced a lost recipe for one of my all-time favorite dishes from my childhood. I'd leave out the mustard powder next time because it's the only difference I could taste. But it was still delicious with it added. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
My family loved this. I liked it but thought the ketchup taste was undeniable, so when I make it again this week, I will use tomato sauce with a little honey or sugar. It was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by good cooker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
This has been a family favorite at my house for years. I could not find my copy at home and was glad it was on this site. It has a wonderful flavor. I do leave the salt out as the ketchup has enough in it. Hope others enjoy as much as we do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States