Beef on Weck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2008
Great recipe, and a great way to make kimmelweck rolls for people who may not be able to find them where they live!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I made this in November for a tailgaiting party. My family from Buffalo absolutely loved the Weck rolls. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Thanks so much for the method of making "weck" from "no weck!" I surely miss those Weck rolls from Buffalo! Now I don't have to feel deprived!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I moved to Maine several years ago and Kimmelweck is unknown here. Besides chicken wings this is my most missed food. This is the closest I've came to having the real thing.Just make sure that the beef is rare. I recently returned from a trip to Buffalo and after having one there I was craving more here. Thank you for giving me some memories back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterville, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Almost perfect! I worked in a restaurant known for their beef on weck and the trick is to dip the cut rolls in the au jus just a bit before serving so its not so messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Downes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
We dip the bottom side of the top roll in au jus and just serve with horseradish. This recipe was just what I needed. My Buffalonian boyfriend was overjoyed :) Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marygrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This takes a French Dip to an entirely new level. I love caraway seeds, so this just hit the spot. The coarse salt adds a texture reminiscent of a giant soft pretzel, although I must admit it was too salty for me using the recommended ratio. The caraway seeds and salt will stick to the bun using plain water, but I found that you get a crustier top if you brush the buns with an egg wash consisting of egg whites and water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
I am from Western NY and this sandwich is one of the things I fondly remember and really miss eating! There is nothing like the true Kimmelweck roll but once you are outside of Western NY you won't find them. This method of transforming the Kaiser roll really does work though! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanneCooks1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA
Living In: Jasper, Georgia, USA
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
These is a simply but tasty and hearty recipe! We really enjoyed this dish. My husband is a huge fan of French dips and I loved making it with the deli roast beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Absolutely what i've been looking for. I grew up in Buffalo, this being one of my FAVORITE sandwiches. I didn't realize it was only local until I moved to the west coast. Now I'm dating an Oregonian and he had never heard of beef on weck. Outrageous! So, since there are no Kimmelweck rolls to be found out here, this recipe was perfect. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States