Beef on Weck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I moved to Maine several years ago and Kimmelweck is unknown here. Besides chicken wings this is my most missed food. This is the closest I've came to having the real thing.Just make sure that the beef is rare. I recently returned from a trip to Buffalo and after having one there I was craving more here. Thank you for giving me some memories back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterville, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
The biggest flaw in this recipe is you need to use pretzel salt not kosher or course ground sea salt. Its just not the same. Good in a pinch though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Bressi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This is a good recipe. I brushed the rolls with a water-cornstarch mixture, about the consistency of Elmer's glue, then put salt and caraway on, then baked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrisx28

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Between the salt in the au jus and the bun, it was just too salty. I'm sticking with Italian beefs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Thanks so much for the method of making "weck" from "no weck!" I surely miss those Weck rolls from Buffalo! Now I don't have to feel deprived!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
These is a simply but tasty and hearty recipe! We really enjoyed this dish. My husband is a huge fan of French dips and I loved making it with the deli roast beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
I am from Western NY and this sandwich is one of the things I fondly remember and really miss eating! There is nothing like the true Kimmelweck roll but once you are outside of Western NY you won't find them. This method of transforming the Kaiser roll really does work though! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Wagnon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA
Living In: Jasper, Georgia, USA
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This takes a French Dip to an entirely new level. I love caraway seeds, so this just hit the spot. The coarse salt adds a texture reminiscent of a giant soft pretzel, although I must admit it was too salty for me using the recommended ratio. The caraway seeds and salt will stick to the bun using plain water, but I found that you get a crustier top if you brush the buns with an egg wash consisting of egg whites and water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Closest thing to Kimmelweck rolls without going through the hassle of making them yourself. Try brushing the rolls with melted butter instead of water (I also leave off the caraway seeds). The "Easy Slow Cooker French Dip" recipe is delicious for cooking your meat and au jus sauce. These two recipes make for a mouth watering sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Absolutely what i've been looking for. I grew up in Buffalo, this being one of my FAVORITE sandwiches. I didn't realize it was only local until I moved to the west coast. Now I'm dating an Oregonian and he had never heard of beef on weck. Outrageous! So, since there are no Kimmelweck rolls to be found out here, this recipe was perfect. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef on Weck, Part 2: Roast Beef

See how to make the pride of Western New York, the Beef on Weck sandwich.

Beef on Weck, Part 1: Kummelweck Roll

See how to make delicious freshly baked kummelweck rolls.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States