Beef Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
Hey Brenda, this was a really good and totally comforting soup! The only major thing I changed was eliminating the water and beef boullion and using low salt beef broth. After browning my beef and vegies I put everything into my crock pot. For those who mentioned that the meat was tough, the slow cooker seemed to be the answer. I always add more seasonings (garlic and onion powder) and I boiled my egg noodles in a separate sauce pan and then added them to the slow cooker at the very end. Hubby Drew and kid Ash (Ty was at dance) went nuts over this! Thanks Brenda for a very quick and satisfying meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
407 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
Although I'm a trained professional baker, I love making soup and finding a great recipe to use as a jump off is key(I love making soup, but I'm still learning!). I made this soup for a girlfriend who was recuperating from surgery, and needed something nourshing yet light, and very easy to reheat. I played a bit with the recipe by seasoning the meat with seasoned salt, pepper celery salt, and onion powder before sauteeing(pat the meat dry first)with the onion and celery. I also used 1 can of low salt beef broth in place of 2 cups of the water, and I added a can of drained beans(I used large white beans)along wiht the rest of the veggies and noodles. I found that the salt is more controlled, and if the soup needs more salt or pepper, it can be added at the end of cooking. This soup is so nourshing and she loved it. My boyfriend, who was a very picky eater loved it too. You may need to up the liquids, so buy 2 cans of low salt beef broth just in case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
This soup is delicious. I sauteed everything up the night before and let it simmer in the crockpot the following day, adding the noodles at the end. I think the egg noodles make this dish. Even the husband liked it. We've put it in the "keeper" pile of recipes. I did up the amount of water - up to 7 cups - that seems to be about right for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
This recipe was super easy and great. I did it with a little over a cup of uncooked egg noodles, 3 cubes of beef bouillon and at least double the water that the recipe called for. The whole family loved it-there were no leftovers! It tasted like more work went in to it. A keeper! I used regular stew meat and I think I cooked it for an hour to soften it a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
This was wonderful! I've been looking for a beef noodle soup. I used sirloin instead of stew meat and cooked it longer. The steak was tender and the flavor of the soup was outstanding. A keeper for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Although the basic recipe itself was delicious I'm sure, I've never been able to not make a recipe my own.Being more of a "stoup" lover I used 1 1/2 C of beef broth and 2 1/2 C of water instead of the 5 3/4 C of water. I added 1/4 cup of flour into the meat mixture before I added liquid for a thicker consistancy. I also added approx a TBSP of onion powder and used Ground Deer Meat instead of stew meat. And finally topped off the finished product with some french fried onions.Served with Grilled cheese. Delicious! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by surpy77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
I also used the beef broth instead of the water and bouillion. I did add additional water and a packet of Liptons beef and mushroom soup mix as my family likes that mushroom taste. I added 3 cloves of chopped garlic to the onion and celery and this soup mix was perfect! Easy, Easy. Easy! Will definately fix again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2001
I just made it again and added green beans and a little tomato powder! Wow! My family and friends just love this soup. It's almost stew like..... This was great!! I had a beef shank for soup in the freezer, so I browned that and then put it with all the other ingredients except the noodle in a crock pot. After a few hours I cut up the meat and put it and the noodles back in the crock pot to finish up cooking. The house smelled wonderful, but the best was how much my family loved this soup!! I also cheated and used a bag of shredded carrots. Thanks soooo much for this easy and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
Oh yum. It is a whole 14 degrees here in Chicago and this was great. I added the noodles during the last last 10 minutes(a little more than called for) & some peas, my husband pretty much ate 1/2 of it! Thanks Brenda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
Very good soup. I too used a little more than a cup of uncooked egg noodles and used 4 beef buillion cubes. Very good, quick and easy soup. However, when I reheat the soup a few hours later, some of the noodles were very mushy. However, even with mushy noodles, it was still good. Next time, I'll add them the last 10 minutes of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States