Beef Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
My kids and I liked this, but my husband wasn't a fan. I took the advice of others and used beef stock instead of water and added 1/4 t of thyme and marjoram as well as 1 bayleaf. After about 2 hours, I tasted and was worried it tasted a little bland so I added a packet of Lipton Onion soup mix. I'm glad I did, it really turned the soup around. I simmered for about 4-5 hours on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Very good! I actually used steak meat to make this and it was especially yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachtheBach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Great recipe for a chilly day. I didn't add any bullion and just salted the soup to taste instead. My children loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clarissa Neiding

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Very good! It needed a bit of work on the taste, however. A bay leaf improved the flavor. Also added about 1/4 tsp each dried marjoram and thyme and two cloves of finely minced garlic, which I sauteed toward the end of frying the onion, carrot and celery. Replaced the water with beef stock, thereby eliminating the need for bouillon cubes, which add too much salt and too-fake a taste. These changes represented big improvements to this basic recipe. Great comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This is a great no-fuss recipe for any week night. This is not gourmet, so don't be disappointed by its simplicity. However, the flavors mix nicely and it fills your tummy. Which, as a mother of 3, I need on practice nights. I was able to substitute dry egg noodles without an issue. I just didn't cook long after I added them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASERGEANTSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I thought this was very good. It tasted a lot like a French Dip. I used leftover steak instead of stew meat. I boiled the noodles in a seperate pan, then added them at the end. Definetly will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Wonderful! I used the beef broth instead of boullion, as suggested by others. For the beef, I used left over beef roast from the previous night's dinner. Easy meal - and great with a salad & french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I doubled this recipe and slow cooked it in my shiny new 7 quart slow cooker. I used Herb Ox sodium and MSG free bouillon, and then salted to taste with sea salt. This is the perfect method for those who complain about too little or too much taste. Soups can be very subjective so start with a base recipe and season to taste. I threw in two cans of drained peas, cooked the egg noodles separate and added them to the slow cooker the last hour. Very yummy, hit the spot with outside temps near 0° and a snow storm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Awesome! My husband said Awesome at least three times and he wasn,t sucking up or anything. My kids scarfed it up. Just a lovely, filling, hearty soup Added more water at the end and a packet of brown gravy mix to replace what had boil away and what the noodles soaked up but everything else the same. Delicious and thanks for the new winter fav in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmydeshon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
WOW! This was awesome. i only gave it 4 stars bc i made some changes that i think threw it over the top. I sauteed onion and fresh garlic first (i omitted celery). i tossed stew meat in a flour/ground pepper/onion powder mixture. i fried meat in same pan on high until crisp covering formed. I added everything (including raw carrots) in the crockpot and cooked all day. I made homemade egg noodles (recipe from this site). the family loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States