Beef Noodle Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Yum! This recipie was really good for a quick dinner. (Although it definitely needed some tweaking) I used 6 servings of potatoes to just barely cover the 9x13. I added chopped onions to the beef, and cooked the macaroni for about 10 minutes (until it was done) while adding a little water every few minutes to keep it from burning. I also put gravy over the beef mix, and I put cheese over the potatoes. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Queensbury, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
We found the noodles & potatoes to be redundant so I used 1 10 oz box of frozen mixed veggies instead (I partially thawed them 1st). Also, we found this to be too bland for our tastes so I added worcestershire sauce, onion powder, pepper & a couple shakes of Tabasco for more flavor. 6 servings of potatoes left a thin frosting on top. I will use 8 servings the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
what can you say bad about this recipe? Everyone likes it and it's super easy to make after a long day at work. Plus, you can customize it according to your tastes or what you happen to have on hand that day. I always add corn & mushrooms. I also, like other reviewers, make more potato's than the recipe calls for. I've found that making a serving for 6 (according to the box) covers a 9x13 pan perfectly. We also add the cheese during the last 10 min's of baking - just enough to melt it. Great recipe for a cold winter's day !! Thanks Cathy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2003
I used Onion Soup mix (store didn't have beef onion flavor) and it worked out fine. I made enough mashed potatoes for 10 servings (according to product box) - and that was just right. 2 cups of mashed potatoes is definitely not enough to cover a 13x9 pan. I added 1 can of corn, and 1 can of green beans, and topped it all off with both paprika and shredded cheddar cheese. I found that 1 1/2 pounds of ground beef was the perfect amount. Hubby loved it, it was very flavorful and a great comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2001
I had to use Beef Onion Soup Mix too. This was very good but I would add some vegetables to it the next time i make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
My family loved this. I did not use paprika. Instead I put shredded cheddar cheese on top. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ossian, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seymour, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
This recipe was simple and super easy. I added 1 can diced tomatoes and used real mashed potatoes instead of instant,added frozen mixed vegetables and I put shredded cheese on top of hamburger mixture before putting mashed potatoes in. I will make this i'm sure over and over again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
Very tasty dish that is quick & easy to make. I used 2 lbs ground beef and added some carrots (cubed), canned green beans and corn to make the dish more colorful. Onion soup mix (1 packet) gave the dish a good flavor. Idaho instant potatoes worked very well and was a great time-saver. I used about 8 cups of mashed potatoes in order to get a decent amount to spread on top of the beef mixture (my 9x13 baking dish was full). This is a great 1-dish meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Easy and tasty! The best kind of recipe! I did add cheese to the top but I think this time I am going to put the cheese between the meat and potatoes. We all loved this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
delicious definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey Fox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Firehouse Beef Stew & Shepherd's Pie

Watch a firehouse cook prepare beef stew and shepherd’s pie.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States