Beef Noodle Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Yum! This recipie was really good for a quick dinner. (Although it definitely needed some tweaking) I used 6 servings of potatoes to just barely cover the 9x13. I added chopped onions to the beef, and cooked the macaroni for about 10 minutes (until it was done) while adding a little water every few minutes to keep it from burning. I also put gravy over the beef mix, and I put cheese over the potatoes. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Queensbury, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
We found the noodles & potatoes to be redundant so I used 1 10 oz box of frozen mixed veggies instead (I partially thawed them 1st). Also, we found this to be too bland for our tastes so I added worcestershire sauce, onion powder, pepper & a couple shakes of Tabasco for more flavor. 6 servings of potatoes left a thin frosting on top. I will use 8 servings the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
what can you say bad about this recipe? Everyone likes it and it's super easy to make after a long day at work. Plus, you can customize it according to your tastes or what you happen to have on hand that day. I always add corn & mushrooms. I also, like other reviewers, make more potato's than the recipe calls for. I've found that making a serving for 6 (according to the box) covers a 9x13 pan perfectly. We also add the cheese during the last 10 min's of baking - just enough to melt it. Great recipe for a cold winter's day !! Thanks Cathy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2003
I used Onion Soup mix (store didn't have beef onion flavor) and it worked out fine. I made enough mashed potatoes for 10 servings (according to product box) - and that was just right. 2 cups of mashed potatoes is definitely not enough to cover a 13x9 pan. I added 1 can of corn, and 1 can of green beans, and topped it all off with both paprika and shredded cheddar cheese. I found that 1 1/2 pounds of ground beef was the perfect amount. Hubby loved it, it was very flavorful and a great comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2001
I had to use Beef Onion Soup Mix too. This was very good but I would add some vegetables to it the next time i make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
My family loved this. I did not use paprika. Instead I put shredded cheddar cheese on top. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ossian, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seymour, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
This recipe was simple and super easy. I added 1 can diced tomatoes and used real mashed potatoes instead of instant,added frozen mixed vegetables and I put shredded cheese on top of hamburger mixture before putting mashed potatoes in. I will make this i'm sure over and over again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
Very tasty dish that is quick & easy to make. I used 2 lbs ground beef and added some carrots (cubed), canned green beans and corn to make the dish more colorful. Onion soup mix (1 packet) gave the dish a good flavor. Idaho instant potatoes worked very well and was a great time-saver. I used about 8 cups of mashed potatoes in order to get a decent amount to spread on top of the beef mixture (my 9x13 baking dish was full). This is a great 1-dish meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Easy and tasty! The best kind of recipe! I did add cheese to the top but I think this time I am going to put the cheese between the meat and potatoes. We all loved this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
delicious definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States