Beef Mushroom Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I found this recipe absolutely wonderful! I've cooked for many years at a restaurant. The only thing I can say about the purple thing. Is what purple thing??. I'm betting they either bought red wine vinegar instead of dry red cooking wine or they didn't boil the mixture of wine and broth long enough. A patron said this was heavenly!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I absolutely LOVE this recipe! I used Beef Tenderloin, olive oil in place of vegetable oil, Marsala cooking wine, increased the onion to 1/4 cup and the garlic to 1 Tbsp (I love onion and garlic), added some salt and pepper. It is the best Beef Stroganoff recipe I've ever used!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Gregg
Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Haslet, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Loved it; so easy! My hubby loved it too. No purple color here, very flavorful.And, I did use red wine. I usually add Worcestershire to my Stroganoff, but forgot. Will do so next time. Also substituted no fat Greek yogurt for sour cream; still delicious. I have a thriving herb garden, used fresh parsley and some savory. I had left over rare beef roast, so I did not "cook" the beef pieces. I just added to the hot sauce, and it was perfectly cooked and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherylbrn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This may not be typical stroganoff with the red wine, and I think you might want to tone it down depending on who you are fixing it for. I also added 1/2 tsp. Emeril's seasoning which I keep made in my cupboard. It was a great hit with my son, who is very picky about mixed flavor things (just likes most things barbequed) and my husband. My grown son went as far as to say "this is the BEST food I've ever eaten! I'm not sure about that, but it's still nice to hear!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Martin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
really liked the sauce with the red wine. Didn't have garlic, but I don't think it made a big difference. I use Tones beef base with water, which I think has less sodium and tastes great. I buy it at Sams club. I also chopped up a medium size onion--instead of 2 tbls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
this was a delicious dinner. I made it while my parents were down visiting. It was a hit. I used a combo of fresh mushrooms and some canned mushrooms. It was very tasty w/ no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shamong, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
We love Stroganoff and this is my favorite recipe. The red wine really makes it. It also freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Allyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This is a classic Stroganoff recipe. Can't believe people are complaining that RED wine made the dish purple... use a white wine if you don't like the color. There really isn't much to change about this recipe, maybe more onions. It is what it is, Beef Stroganoff and the recipe doesn't stray from that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This recipe was good; I subbed ground beef because that was what I had on hand, and decided not to use red wine but rather cream sherry, after reading reviews. I also decided to put the sauce together a little differently, making a roux first and adding the sour cream at the end as I am used to doing with stroganoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DECAFinNW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
did a bit of subbing 1 can of sliced mushrooms & frozen chantrells hand picked and frozen. Used left over prime rib and Au jus to replace the beef broth. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by northwest grandma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snead, Alabama, USA
Living In: Raymond, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States