Beef Jerky in a Smoker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
my first attempt with the akon smoker was a bust. let see how this turns out. using lump coal (which i guess is real wood?) trying to keep it under 200 since the start no spikes yet. a little soaked wood goes a long way. less wood is really better. i would suggest use less wood and add to taste once you learn what your doing. just like a lot of things i guess. first attempt at a loin was a bust! way to dry and way over smoked. couldn't taste the pork at all just smoke. any ideas????????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tj LaFrance

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
155° in my electric smoker for 4 hours was perfect if cut into 1/4" strips. For a low sodium option, use Bragg's Liquid Amino as a soy sauce substitute. I didn't use pepper and went with 1tbs of Mrs Dash garlic & Herb. Everyone that's tried it loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Decent recipe - but I would recommend top round steaks cut at 1/4" thick as top round will provide a more lean cut of meat with less fat/marbling, and the thinner cut will reduce smoke time and provide a bite feel that is more like jerky. Use paper clips to hang the strips of meat from the top grate of WSM smoker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
smelled really good during the 1st stages but was cooked in my smoker on low and burnt after only 4 hours. Will try again and if it comes out as good as it smells the review will defiantly go up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Came out great! Keep it on low though mine was over done after only five hours. We are eating it anyway it's still real good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I love pepered stuff but Im the only one here at our house, so I used Garlic salt insted. OMG that was great. thanks for putting this on line. Good Stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
to the guy below. use common sense idiot too much pepper to you is perfect for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2004
I don't use a smoker (so the flavor may be different), but this jerky recipe is the one my husband requests. I personally think the pepper is a bit strong, but the flavor is excellent, and it grows on you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2003
Entirely too much pepper. We ended up throwing 3/4 of the jerky in the trash--what a waste of time and money!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Not BCrocker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2001
Way too much pepper!!! This would probably be fine if you cut the amount of pepper by 75%!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Christoval, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Homemade Beef Jerky

High protein is all the rage and this beef jerky recipe doesn't fail!

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

Beef on Weck, Part 2: Roast Beef

See how to make the pride of Western New York, the Beef on Weck sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States