Beef Heart Braised in Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Although obviously an organ, heart is not organ meat. It is a muscle. I soak it in cold, salted water for about an hour before cooking (I can't remember why, I just learned to do that when preparing heart). I too added garlic. If you don't have red wine, red wine vinegar works well too. I've made it with apple cider vinegar once in a pinch and it was good. Also, just about any root vegetable works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alpine, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2000
My husband loved it! The only suggestion would be to cook the heart at least 90 minutes, rather than 60. The prep time for cleaning the heart took more than 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2003
this recipe was great my only addition to it is garlic but thats just me im a fanatic and 60mins is plenty of time and finally not as strongly flavored as most may think thank you lola it was a great recipe to do with a cut of meat which isnt too expensive, reminds me of my upbringing always taking the cheaper meets and creating masterpieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EuroGirl6
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I'm rating this three stars not because I didn't like it, but rather because I think it has a lot of unfulfilled potential. My only change was to add two cloves of garlic, which I'm glad I did. It just seemed to lack a flavor to really marry with the somewhat strong flavor of the beef (which is not unpleasant, just stronger beefy flavor than I'm used to.) It seemed to require a lot of salt and I'm not sure why. Also, the sauce didn't thicken up as much as I expected it to so it was kind of watery. If I get the opportunity to try this again, I'll add more carrots, more garlic, a splash of worcestershire, lots of salt and probably do the braise in a crock pot instead of on the stove and see how it goes from there. I'll probably also hold back some beef stock to add a thickener to to boost the consistency of the sauce. That said, I recommend trying this recipe as is before making too many changes. You really need to see what flavors will work for your family before just going off of my opinion. Lola, thanks for posting a recipe for an unusual cut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EuroGirl6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgeway, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Didn't know what to do with beef hearts I had in my freezer until I found this recipe. Thank you!! I used grass-fed beef heart and the taste didn't seem strong...If I hadn't of been the one who made it, I would never had known it was beef heart. It reminded me of a pot roast. Very good meal. My kids ate this up: ages 1, 2, and 3. UPDATE: Have made this a couple more times... Take your time to get the veins/arteries/ skin off as much as you can. It will make a difference. The second time I made this, I was in a rush...the meat was tougher to chew. Take your time. Do it right. I am making this tonight. I had all the ingredients (including homemade beef broth) and I just can't wait to eat this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Fabulous. This made me imagine some kind of magical stew you might find at a country tavern in the middle ages. I added more boullion to make it a bit more liquidy because I knew that the sauce would come out delicious and could be scooped up with toasted baguettes. Great wine recommendation- a strong red really enhances the heart's strong flavor. And the meat is available at my supermarket at one-fourth the price of fancier beef cuts. Merci!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erik Campano

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Darien, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Loved this dish!!! It was easy, had a short list of ingredients and turned out delicious in one pot. I think I would add more carrots and potatoes next time. If I did that I might also increase the gravy amounts slightly. I had a little more meat than vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
i didnt use the wine but i enjoyed a easy recipe i had never cooked heart and this was truly a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I used this recipe as a starting point and tinckered with it a bit to customize it. As another reviewer suggested, I soaked the heart in cold salty water for an hour. I added some fresh and dried mushrooms, 4 cloves of garlic, a dash of cayene pepper, pimiento powder, bay leaf, and annise. Instead of simmering on the stove top, I used a cast iron pot and baked it on 350 for about 1.5 hours. We absolutely LOVED it and didn't think it had a strong flavor at all, but we had a grass-fed beef heart so that probably made a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AJaye2010
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Great low cost treat for the dogs. They loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJaye2010

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Branford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Marlborough, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States