Beef, Green Chili and Tomato Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
ABSOLUTELY delicious!! The only change I made in order to spice it up was I added minced jalapenos. A def fav n will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
My spouse does the grocery shopping (believe me, I'm NOT complaining about that!) and brought home a lb. of beef that was not exactly beef cubes but not exactly ground beef either, but something in between, so I decided to try it in this recipe. Other than changing the measurements to a bit less than half, the only other change was to use a can of Rotel in place of the canned tomatoes and canned chilis. We both thought it was delicious! Served it over brown rice with shredded cheddar and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Loved this - did not have any beer on hand and it was still great. Used Rotel tomatoes with mild green chilies in addition to the chilies in the recipe. Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This "Beef, Green Chili and Tomato Stew" recipe was quite good, and the flavor combination of green chile peppers with cumin reminded me of "chili con carne." If I were to make this again, I would quadruple the onions since I love onions in "chili," and fry the cumin with the onions to take the "raw edge" off it. I transferred all the ingredients to my slow cooker after browning, and mine was done after 6 hours on low. Thank you Kimber for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I made this recipe with a little over a lb. of stew meat and only one can of green chilis. I thought it smelled weird at first with the beer; but once this cooked out it tasted wonderful. I added fresh spinach and zuchinni during the last 20-30 minutes of simmering as I was looking to make a vegetable beef/tomato stew. This was very good and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
This recipe is absolutely DELICIOUS! I've made it three times now and I know I'll be making it a lot more during the colder months. Soooo good. I didn't change a thing. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Jacqueline Aragon
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
We loved this stew. We used New Mexico green chillies. It was hot, so crushed the tomatoes to sween the sauce, and two beers. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline Aragon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
The only reason I didn't rate this five stars is because I didn't exaclty stick to the script. I didnt use beer although next time I will try it out; I used tomatillos instead of canned tomatoes; and I used fresh chiles. I put all my veggies under the broiler untill charred a little, blended and then cooked as the directions say... actually, now that I think of it I'll just add my own recipe because I did modify this recipe a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmeeks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Very good! Meat was tender. Couldn't find Canned Roma tomatoes...only plum, but turned out great. Pretty easy recipe with minimal ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Awesome! I doctored just a bit by adding a diced red pepper and poblano that I had to use or toss. market had stew beef at a better price than chuck roast so I used that. It was so good--served it over rice and had veggies on the side. Tomorrow night I'll be using the leftovers in a pulled beef enchilada! THANK YOU for sharing this one -- it is a keeper for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Albans, Vermont, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States