Beef, Green Chili and Tomato Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
This is the best Green Chilie Stew ever! I doubled the recipe, used a large roasting pan, and put it in the oven at 350 degrees. I would use a crock pot if singling it. I didn't have a beer so I left that out, but added a couple of bay leaves off my tree. It made a wonderful Shabbat meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2002
Wonderful taste! I added a little more garlic and thickened up with a bit of flour & butter mixture at the end. My husband & kids loved it!! And real easy!! I served it over a biscut & with a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sharon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
I've been cooking for 40+ years and this is the only *chili* recipe I've found (so far) tjat doesn't give my hubbie indigestation! Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
This was delicious. I added some carrots and potatoes and used tomatoes with chiles since I didnt'have any canned green chile peppers. I used the crockpot and it was very tender and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
I have to give it a 5, because I loved it! But be careful, if you don't like spicy foods you will not like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
Thought of this more as a chili recipe than a stew recipe. Served all by itself with a little cheese sprinkled on top. Liked it better than regular chili. Very Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
I was concerned when making this stew if it would seem like it was missing something since there are so few ingredients. My husband and I both LOVED this stew. It was very flavorful & filling and didn't need anything else other than crusty bread to soak up the stew. I didn't use a beer but added extra beef stock instead. I also floured the meat before cooking - it seemed to thicken up the stew. I cooked it for 3 hours & the meat was tender & perfect. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
This was excellent! I browned a chuck roast in my pressure cooker. Removed it and sauted the onions and garlic. Added everything else along with the beef and cooked it at 15 lbs pressure for about 50 minutes. I served it over brown rice and cornbread on the side. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGQUEEN75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
Great recipes - I used 2 cans of rotel tomatoes and 1 can of garlic whole tomatoes - YUMMY I have made this four times now and each time its gotten rave reviews from friends and family. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I didn't have much beef, so I halved the recipe. Other than that I didn't make any changes. We really liked this and will make it again. Served it with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States