Beef, Green Chili and Tomato Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
I was concerned when making this stew if it would seem like it was missing something since there are so few ingredients. My husband and I both LOVED this stew. It was very flavorful & filling and didn't need anything else other than crusty bread to soak up the stew. I didn't use a beer but added extra beef stock instead. I also floured the meat before cooking - it seemed to thicken up the stew. I cooked it for 3 hours & the meat was tender & perfect. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Yum,Yum,Yum! This is soooo good! I made a few changes. I browned the meat, onions, and garlic and put it in the crockpot instead of cooking them on the stove. I feel that it could of used a bit more beer, so next time I'll use a whole bottle for 3 servings instead of half a bottle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Savannah Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
Great recipes - I used 2 cans of rotel tomatoes and 1 can of garlic whole tomatoes - YUMMY I have made this four times now and each time its gotten rave reviews from friends and family. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Really nice - almost surprisingly so. I thought I was going to play with this recipe, and perhaps thicken it, but it did some excellent stuff while it was cooking and turned out really well without my help. The broth is rich, but simple, and does enough thickening on it's own. I threw some cilantro and fresh jalepeno on top and called it delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2002
Wonderful taste! I added a little more garlic and thickened up with a bit of flour & butter mixture at the end. My husband & kids loved it!! And real easy!! I served it over a biscut & with a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sharon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This was outstanding! I used frozen, roasted New Mexico chiles instead of canned and simmered closer to 3 1/2 hours. The meat was tender and the flavor was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
Excellent dish! I made this according to directions, even tho i was a little short on beef. To give it substance, I served it over homemade corn tortilla chips, and topped it with a dollop of sour cream. Really gave it a southwest flavor! Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHOGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I'm sorry but this dish is completely flavorless. The only good thing I can say is the chuck (stewing meat) comes out very tender but any meat will simmered for 2 1/2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This is a great recipe that is very easy. I read the reviews and floured the meat before frying. I used more beef broth and left out the beer. I also threw it all in a crock pot after frying up the meat and cooked it on high for 5 hours. We will be having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States