Beef, Green Chili and Tomato Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2002
Wonderful taste! I added a little more garlic and thickened up with a bit of flour & butter mixture at the end. My husband & kids loved it!! And real easy!! I served it over a biscut & with a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sharon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
I've been cooking for 40+ years and this is the only *chili* recipe I've found (so far) tjat doesn't give my hubbie indigestation! Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
This is the best Green Chilie Stew ever! I doubled the recipe, used a large roasting pan, and put it in the oven at 350 degrees. I would use a crock pot if singling it. I didn't have a beer so I left that out, but added a couple of bay leaves off my tree. It made a wonderful Shabbat meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
This was delicious. I added some carrots and potatoes and used tomatoes with chiles since I didnt'have any canned green chile peppers. I used the crockpot and it was very tender and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
Excellent dish! I made this according to directions, even tho i was a little short on beef. To give it substance, I served it over homemade corn tortilla chips, and topped it with a dollop of sour cream. Really gave it a southwest flavor! Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHOGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
This was really good and it freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
Pretty good and easy dinner. Will make again. Kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOTTAHESS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
I have to give it a 5, because I loved it! But be careful, if you don't like spicy foods you will not like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
Thought of this more as a chili recipe than a stew recipe. Served all by itself with a little cheese sprinkled on top. Liked it better than regular chili. Very Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
I was concerned when making this stew if it would seem like it was missing something since there are so few ingredients. My husband and I both LOVED this stew. It was very flavorful & filling and didn't need anything else other than crusty bread to soak up the stew. I didn't use a beer but added extra beef stock instead. I also floured the meat before cooking - it seemed to thicken up the stew. I cooked it for 3 hours & the meat was tender & perfect. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States