Beef, Green Chili and Tomato Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I loved this stew. The only thing I changed on the original recipe was I ommitted the beer, and added 1.5 c beef broth, total. It also made for good leftovers. I heated leftovers on the stove, and added a can of corn, a can of black beans, and another can of green chilies and simmered for 45 minutes. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Yum,Yum,Yum! This is soooo good! I made a few changes. I browned the meat, onions, and garlic and put it in the crockpot instead of cooking them on the stove. I feel that it could of used a bit more beer, so next time I'll use a whole bottle for 3 servings instead of half a bottle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Savannah Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
A nice recipe in case you like the beef and the adding of beer gives it a special touch. I didn't use so much beer however!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
I didn't really care for this much, but my husband ate his whole bowl. My kiddo was kind of indifferent. I was worried that it wouldn't be flavorful enough so I added about half a can of tomato paste. I probably made a bad choice in the type of beer I used, but it was all that was in the house. I think I'll probably stick to the more veggie-based stews in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
Interesting and different. Simple to make, with tons of flavor. If I make this again, I'll replace the beer (I used Bass ale - perhaps not the best choice?) with more beef broth. Frozen leftovers reheated very well (tasted even better!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
Great recipes - I used 2 cans of rotel tomatoes and 1 can of garlic whole tomatoes - YUMMY I have made this four times now and each time its gotten rave reviews from friends and family. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
This was excellent! I browned a chuck roast in my pressure cooker. Removed it and sauted the onions and garlic. Added everything else along with the beef and cooked it at 15 lbs pressure for about 50 minutes. I served it over brown rice and cornbread on the side. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGQUEEN75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
I was concerned when making this stew if it would seem like it was missing something since there are so few ingredients. My husband and I both LOVED this stew. It was very flavorful & filling and didn't need anything else other than crusty bread to soak up the stew. I didn't use a beer but added extra beef stock instead. I also floured the meat before cooking - it seemed to thicken up the stew. I cooked it for 3 hours & the meat was tender & perfect. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
Thought of this more as a chili recipe than a stew recipe. Served all by itself with a little cheese sprinkled on top. Liked it better than regular chili. Very Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
I have to give it a 5, because I loved it! But be careful, if you don't like spicy foods you will not like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States