Beef Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
This was a good recipe and very very easy to make. The only problem I had was after I put it in the oven, I realized that the acutal directions don't say what to do with the 2 cloves of garlic. When it came out it did seem to be missing something, so I'm assuming the garlic probably could have gone in the spinach mixture. I would also like to try substituting spaghetti for the tomato sauce and ricotta for the cottage cheese. I will definetly make this again, though, and tweak it a bit. It still came out yummy, and it's definetly a way to spruce up plain old ground beef. It's leftover friendly too~ Thanks, Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
Very good, I added some extra onion and extra cheese and I didnt happen to read that it is suppose to use ground beef so I just cut up the steak that i took out of the freezer. I added the garlic to the spinach and cheese mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
I am the originator and am thinking of using 1 pound of ground beef along with 1/2 pound of hot sausage next time. That is how I make my Lasagna and it is a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH BOOTHE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Greer, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
This was a pretty satisfying "fast" meal. I'd probably rate it 3 3/4 stars. When I make it again I'll cut the amount of spinach down to 8 oz., as the 10 oz was a bit much for a couple of our kids.I also substituted Ricotta for the cottage cheese. Overall, most of the family really liked it and went back for seconds!It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
I needed a good meal to make for my dad and siblings while my mom was out of town, and this turned out to be a big hit! Like some other people, I substituted ricotta cheese for cottage cheese and used spaghetti sauce instead of tomato sauce. It wasn't all that difficult to make and everyone loved it. I would definitely recommend this recipe...I'm sure we'll be eating it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
I thought this was pretty bland. (and I'm from Minnesota where most food is and tastes white)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
We quite like this meal. The organo amount wasn't enough so, I added just a little bit more to the browned beef. It was simple to put together. Makes lovely and tasty leftovers! I used fettichini (sp?) instead of egg noodles, because I don't think you can buy them in this country. We liked it:)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madam.Arcadia

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2003
It waan't anything special. I thought the taste of the spinach was really overwhelming so I would suggest cutting back on that, maybe by half. Otherwise, easy and straightforward to make. I think this recipe needs something to kick it up a bit but I can't recommend what. Maybe feta cheese instead of cottage cheese. Or maybe another internal layer of mozzerella (never too much cheese). More garlic or oregano, you decide. This was not a keep and repeat recipe for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
Easy, easy, easy. Next time I make this, I think I will saute the onions first. Reminds me of lasagne. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
Sounded better than it was. Very bland; sorry, we simply like our foods highly flavored. Not a keeper for our family. I would suggest spaghetti sauce as one improvement; it needs several. Also, it was rather dry and needs more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim*designer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Joe's Special Beef and Spinach Scramble

See how to make a classic San Francisco ground beef and spinach scramble.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Tender chicken served with penne pasta in a creamy spinach and pesto sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States