Beef Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2003
I wish I could give this recipe 0 stars. I followed the recipe perfectly and I was expecting it to be really good. Too bad, it turned out to be VERY bland. I will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
This is delicious! The one change I made was out of necessity-I didn't have two 8-oz. cans of tomato sauce, just one, so I used 8 oz. of an Italian Baking Sauce instead and it was fine. I added slightly more water to offset the chunkiness and thickness of the baking sauce. It was very nice and moist, didn't dry out like some pasta casseroles can. My husband had 3rds...and he does NOT like cottage cheese. I don't think he even knew it was one of the ingredients. Thanks for a great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mittens

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
Sounded better than it was. Very bland; sorry, we simply like our foods highly flavored. Not a keeper for our family. I would suggest spaghetti sauce as one improvement; it needs several. Also, it was rather dry and needs more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim*designer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
Easy, easy, easy. Next time I make this, I think I will saute the onions first. Reminds me of lasagne. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2003
It waan't anything special. I thought the taste of the spinach was really overwhelming so I would suggest cutting back on that, maybe by half. Otherwise, easy and straightforward to make. I think this recipe needs something to kick it up a bit but I can't recommend what. Maybe feta cheese instead of cottage cheese. Or maybe another internal layer of mozzerella (never too much cheese). More garlic or oregano, you decide. This was not a keep and repeat recipe for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
We quite like this meal. The organo amount wasn't enough so, I added just a little bit more to the browned beef. It was simple to put together. Makes lovely and tasty leftovers! I used fettichini (sp?) instead of egg noodles, because I don't think you can buy them in this country. We liked it:)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madam.Arcadia

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
I thought this was pretty bland. (and I'm from Minnesota where most food is and tastes white)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
I needed a good meal to make for my dad and siblings while my mom was out of town, and this turned out to be a big hit! Like some other people, I substituted ricotta cheese for cottage cheese and used spaghetti sauce instead of tomato sauce. It wasn't all that difficult to make and everyone loved it. I would definitely recommend this recipe...I'm sure we'll be eating it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
This was a pretty satisfying "fast" meal. I'd probably rate it 3 3/4 stars. When I make it again I'll cut the amount of spinach down to 8 oz., as the 10 oz was a bit much for a couple of our kids.I also substituted Ricotta for the cottage cheese. Overall, most of the family really liked it and went back for seconds!It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
I am the originator and am thinking of using 1 pound of ground beef along with 1/2 pound of hot sausage next time. That is how I make my Lasagna and it is a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH BOOTHE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Greer, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Joe's Special Beef and Spinach Scramble

See how to make a classic San Francisco ground beef and spinach scramble.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Tender chicken served with penne pasta in a creamy spinach and pesto sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States