Beef Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 5, 2006
I recommend cooking the onions with the beef. I am not a big fan of raw(ish) onions. I would also use a smaller ratio of cheese next time if I choose to make it again. I found it way too heavy for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
We thought this was average. For our taste, it had too much spinach. I did add a bit more seasonings and had to add more when it was finished to overcome the spinach flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
I thought this was a wonderful and quick meal idea. I usually cook light so I used wheat pasta, ground sirloin, and all light chesses. The spinach put a wonderful twist on this recipe. My husband also loved it. I will be making this again real soon! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BREN1226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
Delicious! For those who had a problem with wateriness, I make two suggestions. First, the originator of the recipe posted a review in which she said she forgot to say that the meat mixture should be simmered for 15 minutes. Second, make sure to thoroughly drain your cooked spinach. I put mine in several layers of paper towels and squeezed until no more liquid came out. I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and added more seasoning to the meat, and I sauteed the onion and garlic with the meat as well. The result was a very flavorful dish that I'm sure I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
This recipe tastes quite excellent. It just needs more spices and a little less water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
This was pretty tasty although I cut back on the spinach, used ricotta cheese instead of cottage, and skipped the water and used more tomato sauce instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
Most people liked this when i made it, I agree with everyone who said you need to like spinach to really get into this one. I increased the recipe to 60 servings - it had way too many noodles & I'll use less water next time. Overall it brought on many compliments so I'm giving it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Copan, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Hereford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
My husband really liked this, but it was a little bland for me and I added extra spices to the sauce as someone else recommended. Next time I would just make regular lasagna and add spinach instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
I have to give this 5 stars because it constituted one of the occasional times that my boyfriend immediately said, "This is a keeper!" As others have said, if you season to your own taste this works really well. I used plenty of garlic, garlic salt, oregano and basil. Adding a bouillon cube to the water seemed to add extra flavor. I used sirloin ground beef and it didn't generate that much fat in the pan, so I kept it as is and let the juices mix with the tomato sauce. Non-fat cottage cheese worked quite well and made us feel a bit healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
This tasted like a home made hamburger helper. Sorry, this has received rave reviews, but it wasn't a hit at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Joe's Special Beef and Spinach Scramble

See how to make a classic San Francisco ground beef and spinach scramble.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Tender chicken served with penne pasta in a creamy spinach and pesto sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States