Beef Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This was really great! Stuck to the recipe except for omitting the onions, doubling the noodles, and cutting the beef down to 1 lb. I simmered the beef and tomato mixture for about 10 minutes and it thickened up very nicely. I also added a layer of mozzarella cheese after the spinach layer. Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Yum is all I have to say. I have made this a few times for potlucks and there is never any left. I add oregano and garlic powder to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This is a tasty dish. Not overly exciting but a great week night meal. It's pretty much all there, no need really for a side if you so choose. That's what I really like about this dish, everyone in the family likes it a lot, and I usually have all the ingredients on hand, especially if I have Swiss Chard or spinach from our garden and homemade cottage cheese, and wonderful grassfed beef. I have gone to this recipe for years when searching what to fix. It's just pretty quick, and no real need to plan ahead. No beef thawed out, no problem, it'll cook up frozen of microwave it for a couple min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Titusville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This recipe was good. It just wasn't my favorite. It was bland. I boiled the pasta in beef broth. I added extra spices too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~My2Angels~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
I cooked the onion and (extra) garlic with the beef, added bouillion to the water, used ricotta instead of cottage cheese and added basil and oregano. My husband and father-in-law liked it; I thought it was OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
Pretty good. Too much food for two people, and is a little bland when made straight from the recipe, but with added seasonings it makes pretty tasty leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
The picture makes this recipe look like it is made with a flank steak or something similar and sliced cheese which is not at all what the recipe calls for! I think I might like it better if the recipe was like the picture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Vinson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
This dish tasted exactly like hamburger helper to me :(... I even used bowtie pasta instead of the egg noodles and ricotta instead of cottage cheese, which I imagine would have made it worse. It didn't taste bad for what it was, which is the only reason I'm giving it two stars instead of one. It was just an incredible waste of time, effort and money to make this big dish that tastes like it came out of a $1.99 dinner box. I even doctored it up with extra spices to try to give it some originality, but it didn't work. If you want your kids to eat spinach, save some money and throw a can into some hamburger helper lasagna. I was disappointed and definitely will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Hooper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: New Albany, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
I didn't care for it. Kids liked it.It was more like a glorified hamburger helper.I may make again because the kids did eat thier spinach.Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNAMICHELLE1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This is one of the very best pasta recipes that I have tried. I increase the cottage cheese and spinich. My entire family is always requesting this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Tender chicken served with penne pasta in a creamy spinach and pesto sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States