Beef Fillets With Stilton-Portobello Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
Wow, this turned out excellent and I didn't even use tenderloin. I had some very thick sirloin steaks so I browned them as directed and then finished them in a 375 degree oven for 20 mins. I was afraid they wouldn't be tender, but they turned out great. I followed all the directions exactly, except I added a splash of Beef Bovril - just for the color, so my sauce was a rich brown shade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
This turned out real yummy, but how can you go wrong with a nice sharp cheese and a good cut of meat?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
I served this recipe as the main dish for a progessive dinner and it was a hit. I was able to make the sauce ahead of time and reheat a few hours later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
I never thought I could cook anything that tastes this good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Tucker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherwood, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
I foud that using 1/2 red wine and 1/2 demi-glace intensifies the flavor of both the cheese and the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Leetsdale, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Moon Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
This was very good. The sauce was very flavourful and thickened up nicely. However don't think I will use Tarragon again. The flavour was a bit like Aniseed (which I don't like).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
This recipe is foolproof! I substituted Gorgonzola for the Stilton the second time I prepared it, and it got just as many raves! If you don't already,I would recommend cutting the gills out of the Portobello's before slicing them. Otherwise, this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
This tasted wonderful but the gray sauce was extremely unappetizing to look at; I had to close my eyes with each bite. Variations to make this a 5-star delight: - get rid of the sour cream and just serve the marinated mushrooms on the side; - brown the filets for 2 min on each side, then move to a 375-degree oven for 10 minutes for a perfect medium-rare; - replace the tarrogon rub with course salt and pepper. YUM! Definitely the best-tasting filet ever...but I reiterate that the gray sauce looks almost too unappetizing to eat. Omit the sour cream, and proudly serve to guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs. walter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
This dish was pretty tasty and quite easy to prepare. It's too bad the presentation isn't better since the color turns out to be like a dark gray. I'll most likely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
My husband absolutely loved this recipe. I will definitely make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States