Beef Fillets With Stilton-Portobello Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
Wow, this turned out excellent and I didn't even use tenderloin. I had some very thick sirloin steaks so I browned them as directed and then finished them in a 375 degree oven for 20 mins. I was afraid they wouldn't be tender, but they turned out great. I followed all the directions exactly, except I added a splash of Beef Bovril - just for the color, so my sauce was a rich brown shade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
This turned out real yummy, but how can you go wrong with a nice sharp cheese and a good cut of meat?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
I served this recipe as the main dish for a progessive dinner and it was a hit. I was able to make the sauce ahead of time and reheat a few hours later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
I never thought I could cook anything that tastes this good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Tucker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherwood, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
I foud that using 1/2 red wine and 1/2 demi-glace intensifies the flavor of both the cheese and the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Leetsdale, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Moon Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
This was very good. The sauce was very flavourful and thickened up nicely. However don't think I will use Tarragon again. The flavour was a bit like Aniseed (which I don't like).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
This recipe is foolproof! I substituted Gorgonzola for the Stilton the second time I prepared it, and it got just as many raves! If you don't already,I would recommend cutting the gills out of the Portobello's before slicing them. Otherwise, this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
This tasted wonderful but the gray sauce was extremely unappetizing to look at; I had to close my eyes with each bite. Variations to make this a 5-star delight: - get rid of the sour cream and just serve the marinated mushrooms on the side; - brown the filets for 2 min on each side, then move to a 375-degree oven for 10 minutes for a perfect medium-rare; - replace the tarrogon rub with course salt and pepper. YUM! Definitely the best-tasting filet ever...but I reiterate that the gray sauce looks almost too unappetizing to eat. Omit the sour cream, and proudly serve to guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs. walter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
This dish was pretty tasty and quite easy to prepare. It's too bad the presentation isn't better since the color turns out to be like a dark gray. I'll most likely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
My husband absolutely loved this recipe. I will definitely make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States