Beef Fajita Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This is a good fajita marinade for about 1/2 pound of meat. I did add a couple tablespoons of olive oil to tenderize the meat along with a teaspoon of liquid smoke (personal preference). I let this marinate for 8 hours and grilled it over charcoal. I cut up some onion and pepper and sauteed that while the meat was grilling. This was so good with warm flour tortillas and all the fixin's: fresh salsa, guacamole, pico de gallo, shredded cheese, and a dollup of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
i was in a pinch and had to hurry up because it was so late! i didn't have cumin or cilantro (don't like it much anyway) but had everything else. i bought a sirloin steak - about 3/4" thick, trimmed it well and sliced it thin. sliced up 1/2 a onion and dumped it along with the sliced beef into a plastic storage bag, massaged it well and just let it sit on the counter for about 10 miinutes while i prepared tomatoes, lettuce and tortillas (put on paper plate, covered with very lightly damp paper towel and nuked for 25 seconds.) then i flash fried the beef and onions in very lightly greased non-stick well heated pan and it was done! very good taste! everything from start to finish took maybe 20 minutes! now that's the kind of dinners i like! i didn't have salsa but i put some sliced jalapenos from the jar and a dollop of sour cream in mine. the kids just had lettuce, tomato and bagged mexican blend shredded cheese. thank you very much for sharing this recipe! mucho appreciado!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iluvpickles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Makakilo, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This was good but needed some tweaking. It didn't make nearly enough for 1 1/2 pounds of meat so I added a couple tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil and about a teaspoon of worcestershire and also threw in a little extra tequila and lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Boy is this good! I thinly sliced strip steak and let it sit in the fridge for several hours in the marinade. Then I sauteed onions and mushrooms with the meat. Served it with tortillas, fresh cilantro, homemade salsa, mexican cheese and sour cream. My husband and my two year old loved it. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Used this on about 20 pounds of flank steak this weekend. Wow! I wasn't very exact with the measurements, but after marinating most of the day, it was the best flank steak I've ever made. Also, I was running low on tequila, so a little white rum got mixed in, too. Topped the steak with some fresh pineapple salsa, and it was a delight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noel

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
There was WAAAY too much of the lime flavor. I marinaded the steak for about 6 hours! It was slightly spicey but the only real flavor was the lime. It smelled wonderful but I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
That is what supposed to be what fajitas taste like! This is an excellent authentic southwestern marinade! Really good flavor, thanks for posting the recipe, now I can make fajitas that TASTE like fajitas. There may need to be an adjustment to the salt, but please, do NOT use soy salt, use SALT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I marinaded 24 hours; a very short marinade might have been okay. With the tequila and lime combo it had a weird sour flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This was wonderful!! I didn't have tequila, so I skipped that and I also didn't have the cilantro, so i just used 1 tbls. puerto rican sofrito which I had on hand. I used chicken instead of steak and the fajitas were great!! I'll make this marinade for fajitas over and over again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VETTY430

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Station, Indiana, USA
Living In: Miami Lakes, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Exactly what I needed. I tripled the recipe to work for two and a half pounds of beef and flipped the tequila/lime juice amounts. I also added onion powder and a little worchestershire sauce. Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fajita Marinade I

See how to make a 5-star marinade for fabulous steak fajitas.

Fajita Seasoning

Turn simple spices into a flavorful fajita seasoning blend.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States