Beef Enchiladas with Spicy Red Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Excellent !! Loved it !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vickie Boozer
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This is my recipe, and I just want to add some comments about some of the comments in the reviews. Some have mentioned that the sauce is too sweet or tastes too much like tomato sauce. My guess is that the wrong prepared salsa is being used. You need to use a high quality prepared FRESH salsa, not that nasty stuff in jars or cans that is mostly tomato sauce. I usually find it in the deli section of my grocery store. It comes in mild, medium, or hot. I prefer the medium, but if you think this recipe is too hot or not hot enough, use the mild or hot versions. If you want it even hotter, add some chopped jalapenos. When I called the sauce spicy, I meant using lots of spices, not "hot" spicy. Also, it is not critical if you don't want to simmer the meat sauce for the extra time. I just think the extra simmering gives the spices a chance to meld with the meat for a better flavor and it also thickens the sauce. I made this several times before I submitted it to make sure I got the spices right. The red sauce also makes a very tasty salsa. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This is a wonderful tex mexican dish! Made it tonight for the first time for guests and it was a major hit! Everything is perfect.. Make is just how the recipe says and it will turn out perfect. Spices are wonderful together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I have tried so many enchilada recipes, and finally this is the one! No need to make changes; it is perfect as is. I did use corn tortillas since that is all the store had (strange), but I doubt that it made any difference. Even the best restaurant enchiladas I have had don't top these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Wow, my house smells like a restaurant and the flavor of these is fab! The meat mixture alone could be made the day before, or made to go over rice. Very tasty recipe. I cook for our church freezer and this would be great to freeze and let others just reheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
my husband made it for our small group and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
though this recipe is a little time consuming, it is well worth it. Even my kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
These enchiladas turned out very yummy! The tortillas soak up a lot of the sauce when baking, making them extra flavorful. I didn't understand why I needed to cook the sauce for an extra 30 minutes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I made this a couple of days ago. I followed the recipe for the filling exactly but I used "The Best Red Enchilada Sauce" (also on this website) instead for the sauce. They were so good! My sister raved about them and even offered me $10 if I would give her another one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Looks & Sounds & is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States