Beef Enchiladas with Spicy Red Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Vickie Boozer
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This is my recipe, and I just want to add some comments about some of the comments in the reviews. Some have mentioned that the sauce is too sweet or tastes too much like tomato sauce. My guess is that the wrong prepared salsa is being used. You need to use a high quality prepared FRESH salsa, not that nasty stuff in jars or cans that is mostly tomato sauce. I usually find it in the deli section of my grocery store. It comes in mild, medium, or hot. I prefer the medium, but if you think this recipe is too hot or not hot enough, use the mild or hot versions. If you want it even hotter, add some chopped jalapenos. When I called the sauce spicy, I meant using lots of spices, not "hot" spicy. Also, it is not critical if you don't want to simmer the meat sauce for the extra time. I just think the extra simmering gives the spices a chance to meld with the meat for a better flavor and it also thickens the sauce. I made this several times before I submitted it to make sure I got the spices right. The red sauce also makes a very tasty salsa. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I have tried so many enchilada recipes, and finally this is the one! No need to make changes; it is perfect as is. I did use corn tortillas since that is all the store had (strange), but I doubt that it made any difference. Even the best restaurant enchiladas I have had don't top these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This is a wonderful tex mexican dish! Made it tonight for the first time for guests and it was a major hit! Everything is perfect.. Make is just how the recipe says and it will turn out perfect. Spices are wonderful together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Wow, my house smells like a restaurant and the flavor of these is fab! The meat mixture alone could be made the day before, or made to go over rice. Very tasty recipe. I cook for our church freezer and this would be great to freeze and let others just reheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Excellent !! Loved it !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This dish is delicious! The directions in the recipe make it seem harder and longer than it really is. I did change a few things like added jalapenos and red peppers to make it more spicy. It also does not take much time to make... at first glance it seemed long and hard but if you just go with it it will turn out amazing! My boyfriend loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
My family didn't like it. It was more sweet than spicy. I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
These enchiladas turned out very yummy! The tortillas soak up a lot of the sauce when baking, making them extra flavorful. I didn't understand why I needed to cook the sauce for an extra 30 minutes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
We did not like this recipe. Tasted more like a spaghetti sauce and using flour tortillas gave it a weird texture. We let the sauce cook for two hours hoping to get some of the tomato taste out but that did not help much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
One of the best mexican family recipes I have come across in years! My family enjoyed it very much. Made it exactly as the recipe says. Thank All Recipes for a keeper recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States