Beef Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
These are the best egg-rolls ever. My fiance loves meat in his rolls!! They came out quite large...just the way I like them! I will definitly make them again. I cut back on the sherry though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
Outstanding! I made very few changes: I browned the ground beef WITH the onion and garlic, drained it, then added the other ingredients in step 1. I omitted the sherry in step 1, and halved it in step 2, but when I tasted it I wished I hadn't because it tasted like it was missing something. Like other reviewers, I, too, added shredded carrots and celery. Next time I'll remember to add diced scallions also. I also drained the cabbage/beef mixture and LET IT COOL TO ROOM TEMP before attempting to wrap. Another thing: I could NOT find egg roll wrappers, so I used whole wheat tortilla wraps and they were great! But here's a tip on wrapping...it's kind of quirky so bear with me: Imagine your wrapper is a bald guy's face/head. Put your mixture where his mouth would be. Then, fold his "ears" in. The sides should be perfectly parallel. Begin rolling the wrap starting with the chin. BE SURE THAT THE OUTER EDGES STAY PARALLEL THE ENTIRE TIME! IF THEY BEGIN TO FORM A V, STRAIGHTEN THEM OUT AS YOU ROLL! Continue to wrap tightly. Once wrapped, dab a little water on the both wrap surfaces and roll wrap up in a towel for 3-5 minutes to "set." I used a dish towel that was lying around. Sorry for the goofy analogy, but I didn't know how else to describe it. Hope this helps! Finally, I started out deep frying these in a deep wok, but that didn't work out too well so then I did the rest of them in a deep frying pan with a more shallow amount of oil and they came out beautifully. Have fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DivineHealth7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
We tried making egg rolls for the first time using this recipe and they were very simple and easy to make! Just like you'd get in a restaurant! We changed the ingredients a little (reduced the amount of onion and added carrot slices to the cabbage). A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
Tried this recipe and it had such an authentic flavor, really good. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YolandaA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
The recipe was awesome! Great flavour, and easy to make. I did leave out the Sherry as others had suggested and I used the bagged coleslaw instead of chopping up the cabbage. Great recipe! Thx Trisha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
Great recipe--make sure to have some dipping sauces on hand for added flavor. To save some calories, I sprayed mine with butter-flavored cooking spray and baked at 450 until lightly brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
Very good and taste great even the next day. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Tynda, Amur Oblast, Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
added beans sprouts, carrots and ginger and shrimp- great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Yummy!! These were good, very good! I omitted the sherry. And I only used about 3/4 of a small head of cabbage. In the future, I would use about ½ of a small head, at most.. But I like my egg rolls more meaty. I added some julienne carrots, chopped small, but I won't do that again because one egg roll got punctured by a carrot. :) Still worked, though! I also added about ½ can of bean sprouts. I would have bought the fresh ones, but they weren't as 'fresh' as they should have been. One thing: At the end of mixing, when the cabbage and meat mixtures were combined, I ended up with a lot of liquid in the bottom of the bowl. I drained the mixture, but a lot of the flavor drained out too! I'll have to try to fix that in the future, but this was an amazing recipe. And the little leftover filling tasted great by itself! Thanks, Trisha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
I used shrimp instead of ground beef. This was very easy and quickly became 1 of my husbands favorite things for me to cook. The only problem I had was I had to purchase a bigger frying pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States