Beef Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
You all will think I'm crazy, but I cook a lot of Asian foods, including crispy won tons and lumpia (usually with ground pork), and I've never precooked the meat and vegetables before filling the skins. I didn't this time either. I just put all the ingredients in a bowl and shmooshed them together, then filled the egg roll skins with the raw ingredients. This worked perfectly, and saved a lot of bother. The deep frying process cooked the meat to a safe internal temperature; and to be doubly safe, I drained the cooked rolls in the oven on a rack set over a baking sheet at 200 degrees until the meal was ready. I used fresh garlic and ginger, and added about 1/2 tsp of 5 spice powder. These came out fine, but frankly, I prefer the taste of ground pork. When I make them again, that's what I'll use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
These were so delicious! It made a lot more than stated though. Make sure you don't get your fingers wet though or the wrappers tear very easily. I never would have thought making egg rolls was so easy. Not authentic asian egg rolls, but oh so wonderful and you just have to give these a try. We loved these! Thanks Trisha, I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
These are wonderful if you lay them out on a cookie sheet and freeze then bag them. You can fix a couple to go with a meal whenever you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
This was super oily but a great combo of ingredients. I think I'll experiment with baking the rolls rather than sauteing ingredients in oil, then frying in oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Delicious. I will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig J. Doucette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
These turned out so good. I love making different kinds of egg rolls. I will make these again but I'll probably half the soy sauce because they turned out really salty. Everyone should try these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
These were excellent...I followed the recipe as is, and they turned out great. My kids gobbled them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELSY
Home Town: Niles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wauconda, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
This is a good recipe, i added carrot. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Used ground chicken instead of ground beef and tried someone's suggestion to bake in oven. Won't do that again, egg rolls came out very hard, my son hated them. The filling was great and next time I will try frying them instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Made these for a Christmas party and everyone really enjoyed them. I've never made egg rolls before and they went together very easy. Thanks for the recipe Trisha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States