Beef Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This was a good recipe. Mine fell apart while cooking, I’m sure due to my error and not the recipe. Great taste but a little too time consuming for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
great recipe, just didn't put sherry but we love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLAP2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Fantastic Recipe and pretty easy to make. I also used coleslaw so I didnt have to cut up the cabbage, but other then that I followed the recipe fairly close (sometimes adding more soy sauce or garlic). I would buy two packs of egg roll wrappers because I still had quite a bit of mixture. Also, if you are rolling all of the eggrolls before frying, don't stack them on top of each other, the juice leaks onto other egg rolls causing tearage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Definately tasty and simple. I went vegitarian and used shredded carrots instead of beef. Also used fresh ginger instead of ground. I did what other reviewers suggested and baked the rolls rather than frying, which was a mistake. The taste and texture of the wrappers was all wrong, so go ahead and deep fry even if it is a bit more oily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
This recipe is excellent! My daughter loves egg rolls, but is also extremely picky...she LOVED them! The only change I made to the recipe is that I added canned miniature shrimp. It turned out great. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
People are going to start to think I give 5 starts to all my reviews. I think it is because I only try ones that I think look good and will work. This one was no exception. I usually follow exactly but here are the changes I made and direction recomendations I have. I made the follow substitutions: Ground pork for beef 1/2 t of onion powder for onions. 1/2 t of garlic powder for dried garlic. After everything was put back together in step 2, I poured everything into a screen colander because that amount of liquid would ruin the wrappers. If you are not going to fry immediatly upon wrapping, I suggest to have them set on a paper towel. They will continue to moisten the wrapper, and the paper towel will help aborb it away. My wife said these were the best eggrolls she has ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Wonderful!!!! Excellent!!! Got rave reviews from the crowd!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewisville, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
They were all right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannaBeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
You all will think I'm crazy, but I cook a lot of Asian foods, including crispy won tons and lumpia (usually with ground pork), and I've never precooked the meat and vegetables before filling the skins. I didn't this time either. I just put all the ingredients in a bowl and shmooshed them together, then filled the egg roll skins with the raw ingredients. This worked perfectly, and saved a lot of bother. The deep frying process cooked the meat to a safe internal temperature; and to be doubly safe, I drained the cooked rolls in the oven on a rack set over a baking sheet at 200 degrees until the meal was ready. I used fresh garlic and ginger, and added about 1/2 tsp of 5 spice powder. These came out fine, but frankly, I prefer the taste of ground pork. When I make them again, that's what I'll use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
These were so delicious! It made a lot more than stated though. Make sure you don't get your fingers wet though or the wrappers tear very easily. I never would have thought making egg rolls was so easy. Not authentic asian egg rolls, but oh so wonderful and you just have to give these a try. We loved these! Thanks Trisha, I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States