Beef Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I substituted chicken and these came out great. Cooked chicken in 1tbs of olive oil, and used the same recipe for beef. No onions as my wife doesn't care for them. Premixed no sauce coleslaw with the carrots ... Used red moscato (3tbs). It came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
These are really good and easy. I had never deep fried before, so I read up on how important the temperature of the oil is and watched a few YouTube videos on making egg rolls. I got myself a thermometer just to make these. The only things I did differently, which are not really all that different, was to add carrots, let the filling cool before I filled the wrappers and use egg whites as a "sealant" for the wrapper. Will do again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This has become a favorite in my family. The first time I made it I made it close as I could to "as written" and it was fabulous. Since then, I follow it "loosely" (tonight I didn't have sherry but I did have cooking red wine so I used that) and we enjoy it with whatever ingredients I have on hand. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mifflinburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Divide, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Made this recipe exactly as stated except omitted the sherry because I didn't have any on hand. Consequently, they just tasted like something was missing. If I make these again, I will definitely try it with the sherry. My family liked these, but I thought they were a little on the bland side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa luvz2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I really did like this; however, one of my favorite eggroll "styles" is vietnamese where they use cellophane noodles instead of cabbage. I mixed in a little cabbage for variety... but I am sold on the cellophane type noodles. I also agree with Divine Health about browning the ground beef WITH the onion and garlic. I also like the idea of adding shredded carrot for some color and added texture...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
My hubby really liked these the only change I made was to use coleslaw (1 1/2 Lb) instead of shredded cabbage. The filling was still watery. Next time I'm going to use 1/2 the sherry. but over all a good recipe. (I did use the extra water from the filling to moisten the egg rolls to seal them.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I decided to make these for dinner tonight and they came out great. Family members of mine used to make these alot when I was little and I decided to try them myself. I really enjoyed these, but I would probably eliminated the sherry next time(flavor is a bit strong) and add bean sprouts to my egg roll as a extra ingredient. Other than that, I appreciate you posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I added a cup of fresh button mushrooms chopped into the cabbage mixture. I also replaced the black pepper with a tsp of crushed red pepper flakes. These were a hit with my entire family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
My hubs is not much of a Chinese food guy. I knew he'd at least try this since it had beef. He loved them!!!! My 10 year old son who will not eat ANYTHING gobbled them up. I begged him to just take one bite. Funny, that's all it took! The recipe does make a LOT! I froze half for another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This recipe was pretty good! I dont think id make it again with ground beef. And if i did i would add some sort of seasoning! Though there was a flavor, it wasnt all that fantastic, however i will make it again with changes to the recipe! Maybe a little more cabbage and less meat (probably pork)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States