Beef Curry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
I've made this recipe multiple times with brillant success. A great base soup that with a little creativity you can add all sorts of different vegetables. I've amazed friends who come into my house when this is cooking and they usually try to stay for dinner. This is also one of the easiest recipes I've seen in awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
I made this last night and wow!!!! Is it ever great!!!! I was a little nervous because of the amount of curry that it called for (I'm not a fan of strong curries) but I followed the recipe exactly and the results were fantastic. I will be making this one again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
This recipe was great. I did put only 3 cups beef broth and added more curry powder. It tasted very delicious. I made it into a stew instead. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
Very delicious. We've also tried it with chicken instead of the beef and liked it just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2000
added cornstarch to thicken soup to make it like a stew also added carrots. loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
this is a fantastic recipe! start that is... me being the diddler that i am i needed to tweak! i added four potatoes to give the soup more substance... also use a bit more onions... just to your taste of course. i used two medium onions... also heap the tablespoons of curry powder... cut mr salty in half. only 1 teaspoon for you! and add a pinch of cayenne... 1/4 teaspoon for the measurer... enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
Excellent soup that is very easy to make. I suggest a tad bit more curry, and less onion, more like 1 and 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRCLAIR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidon, South, Lebanon
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
This really hit the spot! Read other reviews, added an extra potato, 2 thin carrots and a small amount of cornstarch. Made 8 cups of soup. Simple and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
This was an awesome recipe to start from. I've made it 3 times now. Here are the changes I made: added more beef and potatoes than the recipe asked for, and bell peppers and carrots for a more stew taste. I coated the beef in flour before browning to thicken up the soup. It was still pretty runny but the broth was so good, nobody was complaining. If you want to make this more of a stew, you should probably use 4 cups of stock, not 6, and use cornstarch to thicken. UPDATE: I made the same soup today with chicken and chicken stock (instead of beef and beef stock) and substituted cooked rice for the potatoes. I skipped the browning part and followed the rest of the ingredients and steps per recipe with my original modifications, adjusting the cooking time to the chicken breast (cut up). Excellent flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
This was absolutely out of this world! The flavor is so intense. She said the recipe is from South Africa but my husband was in the Navy and we were stationed in Japan and the Japanese also have alot of curry dishes like this. It was so good to taste that flavor again, it brings back good memories! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canyon Lake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States