Beef Curry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This was amazing, I adjusted the curry to my taste and added a bit more. The aroma was tantalizing and I only got to have 2 bowls out of the batch as neighbors and friends all asked for more. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This is a nice, simple recipe for a novice cook (me). It was a little too intense for me the first time I made it as a soup. So the next couple of times I only used 4 cups of beef stock, and added a little corn starch to thicken it up, and served it over rice. I also skipped the potatoes. It was yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I just did this today for the first time and it was really good! I added carrots and celery. I'm going to make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Excellent! I did have to add the cornstarch to make it thicker. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Wasn't too bad a soup. My boyfriend rated it a 4 1/2 and said it was the best soup he's had in four years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by I Love Troy
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I made the soup this morning to heat up later for dinner. Just now tasted it. Yum! The curry isn't overpowering, but just adds a nice dimension of flavor. I used sweet potatoes instead of white because I'm on this sweet potato kick. Very good! I'm probably going to add some frozen peas to it too tonight for dinner. That's just me though. I add peas to everything :) Oh! and I didn't have beef stock so I subbed that for 1/2 water 1/2 beer combo. I don't feel like that caused the broth to lack any flavor. Just ask my hubby, beef and beer go hand in hand :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I Love Troy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
My husband and I loved this recipe. I took the advice of other reviewers and I coated the beef in flour before browning. I also added carrots to the pot. Lastly, I added cornstarch to help thicken up the liquid. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westlake Village, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This turned out great although I did alter a couple things. I always substitute beef with elk meat and you either cook elk for mere minutes or all day long for it to be good. So I threw everything but the potatoes in a crock pot on low all day and it was fantastic. I added 4 smallish potatoes and a handful of carrots about 2 hours before dinner time then thickened it with corn starch right before serving. I served this with JP's Big Daddy Biscuits (from this site) and we had a wonderful meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Fabulous!! The recipe title states "SOUP" - it is not meant to be thick like stew - that is why it is SOUP. I used left over roast beef cut into cubes and omitted the vinegar. Other than that I followed the recipe and it was soooooooo good!! JUST the right amount of spice. I did not find it bland in the least, but the left roast was a heavily seasoned roast and maybe that had something to do with it? My family didn't like it, but they don't like curry. I love curry and I am LOVING this perfect soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I shook up the beef cubes in flour, then browned with onions. Then added 3 cans beef broth, >2Tb curry, 2 bay leaves & simmered on low ~ 30 minutes covered. Then added 1/4 tsp. cayenne, 1.5 tsp salt, 2 Tb white vinegar, 1 ea: large red & green bell pepper, 2 sweet potatoes and a healthy handful of sliced baby carrots. Simmered again covered about an hour. Quite tasty, and my husband is not generally a huge fan of curry, but he liked this dish! The beef came out unusually tender and delicious. The cayenne gave it a tiny bit of a kick. The flavor was very full, especially as leftovers the next day; I think the extra veggies and spice helped keep it from being bland as other reviewers suggested. Thank you for the recommendation to use sweet potatoes, they really complemented the curry!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States