Beef Chili Five Ways Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I was interested in finding a chili recipe that both my kids and my husband would enjoy. This was pretty good but like other reviews I found something missing. I added a can of rinsed red kidney beans and added 1 teaspoon of ground cumin. This gave the broth more flavor and calmed down the spiciness of the chili powder for my kids. I think next time I will also add 1/2 teaspoon of ground coriander.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I liked this, but my kids didn't. I didn't use chili powder or broth. I would make it again. Super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Too much spice for me, so I reduced the amount of chili powder significantly. Otherwise, it was really good with some saltines on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiwismykat

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
So simple, easy and tasty. I am living in Europe and sometimes have trouble finding the ingredients that I need to make some of my favorite comfort foods.I also do not have access to all of the equipment as I am living in student housing. This was a GREAT recipie, with my handicaps, or reguardless. Tomatoes with chiles were not available so I got some little hot pepers in a jar and diced about 3, this was enough it was warm, almost too spicey for me. I also used the Knorr beef broth that comes in concentrated form, one packet was perfect diluted in hot water. I meant to put cilantro in, but purchased parsley instead, tossed a bit in, this was also great, although I think I will try cilantro next time. I also let it sit for about 5 min or so, it thickened up wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Quick and easy, this was a tasty chili. I added red kidney beans to the mix and it was perfect for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Robin Nicole Strickland
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
So I'm not a big bean fan but in the interest of following the recipe, I left them. To my surprise, you couldn't taste them. The chili itself was AMAZING though. It was really tasty and the chili itself was full of flavor. With winter coming, I have a feeling this is going to be one of our go to recipes on cold nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Nicole Strickland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
This was good stuff, but I do tend to like *boring* chili like my mom used to make. I used kidney beans in place of black beans because that's what chili is in my world and had to call an audible and sub tomato sauce for the beef broth when I discovered we were out of broth (which I think gave it a perfect consistency!). While I appreciate the simplicity and what I think of as "chili", there was a little something missing, but I can't decide what. Beef, it's what's for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Moroccan Variation:Prepare recipe as directed above, adding 1/4 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice and 1/4 cup chopped pitted dates or golden raisins with ingredients in step 2.Serve over hot cooked couscous.Garnish with toasted sliced almonds, chopped fresh mint and Greek yogurt, as desired. {I MADE THIS AND IT'S MY FAVORITE!!} ***Mexican Variation:Prepare recipe as directed above, adding 1 tablespoon cocoa powder with ingredients in step 2.Garnish with chopped fresh cilantro, pepitas (pumpkin seeds) and corn tortilla chips, as desired. Serve with corn tortillas. [ALSO MADE THIS AND IT'S OK.THE TOPPINGS ADD A LOT.] ***Italian Variation:Prepare recipe as directed above, adding 1-1/2 teaspoons fennel seed with ingredients in step 2.Before removing from heat, stir in 3 cups fresh baby spinach.Cover;turn off heat and let stand 3 to 5 minutes or until spinach is just wilted.Serve over hot cooked orecchiette or cavatappi, if desired. Garnish with grated Parmesan cheese and pine nuts, as desired. ***Cincinnati Variation:Prepare recipe as directed above,adding 3 tablespoons white vinegar and 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon with ingredients in step 2.Serve over hot cooked elbow macaroni.Garnish with chopped white onion, sour cream and shredded Cheddar cheese, as desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States