Beef Caldillo Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This tasted great. Only change I made was to add some swiss brown mushrooms. Was even better as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Maksymiw

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
WOW! SO easy and SO TASTY! One of my new favorite 'cold day' stews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
My favorite stew; hearty, delicious, and spicy, and EASY! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Simply amazing. I don't care much for beef stew meat, so used some steak instead and it was delish!! I also cut everything in half for 2 people which was perfect for dinner and lunch the next day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
What a fantastic meal - each bite was bursting with flavor and spice! I didn't use stew meat - sirloin roast was on sale and used that. No need to use oil to brown the meat if you have a good pan. I used 2 10.5 oz cans of Rotel tomatoes and chilies, no salt and 3 small cloves of spanish garlic (hate the powder stuff). As I wanted a more balanced meal, I added about a half lb of sliced carrots and 3/4ths lb of fresh mushrooms when I added the potatoes (~1.5 lbs). Next time I'll add even more mushrooms and increase the liquid ingredients and spices accordingly because we like a brothy stew. We didn't eat with tortillas, instead had fresh rosemary bread. Already planning to make it again next month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I liked this recipe. Despite using the Mexican tomatoes and salsa verde, it reminded me of a traditional beef stew but with a hot kick to it. Adults may like this, but I am not so sure if kids could handle the heat. The directions say to add salsa casera. They are not listed in the ingredients list though. So, I didn't know to add it or how much. I used beef tenderloin and I only had about half the amount of beef suggested and it worked fine. About 2/3 the way into being done most of the liquid had evaporated. I added a cup of water and the rest of the salsa verde in the jar, or about 1/2 cup. I let it simmer about 15 or so minutes more and it was okay. My potatoes cooked with the stew for about 45-50 minutes, to fully soften. I liked the ease of this stew. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
A very tasty, spicy stew. Three pounds of meat seemed like a lot, so I cut it back to 2 pounds. The meat was nice & tender. I agree with other reviewers that it could use more sauce-there wasn't a lot. The instructions call for salsa casera, but that is not listed in the ingredients. Turns out that is just regular salsa. I put in a cup of medium salsa, and used 2 cans of Rotel tomatoes. Also, for the salsa verde I used Mexina Salsa Verde, a green tomato salsa on this site. I had a yam that need using so I threw it in with the potatoes, & it was good. Some green peppers might be good too, and possibly corn or hominy. It also might be good served with rice instead of tortillas. You could also start it earlier in the day & use a crock pot. Great base recipe. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Beef Caldillo Stew: "Like winter beef stew, with spicy Mexican twist. Leftovers better." The only minor adjustments that I made to the cooking method was to sear the beef first, then putting everything (potatoes included) into the crockpot late morning so that it'd be ready at dinnertime. Oh and I didn't have the Herdez Casera (but did have the Herdez Verde - we LOVE Herdez products!!), so I subbed Kirkland medium salsa, which, at 1 whole cup's worth, made this really spicy. It toned down (and thickened up) by the next day, and the leftovers were fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States