Beef, Burgundy Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 26, 2007
This was fabulous the differences that I made were that I did not have demi glace so I used 1 tbsp of Chicken Bouquet did not add sherry wine and instead of Burgundy wine I used Merlot which I had on hand. I will definately be making this weekly. I thought I was back in France.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
Excellent! I made a version of tis recipe using the materials I had on hand (omitted demi glaze and used cabranet) and still it turned out very flavorful. I did add a pinch of sugar (to offset the salt factor) which seemed to work just fine. Thanks for such a GREAT dish with some very complex flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
This recipe is not for those with timid taste buds. If you don't like red wine, you may not like this. At the stage where all the ingredients were combined, I tasted it for seasoning and was dismayed at the overpowering flavor of the red wine (I bought an Australian merlot). Made my BF taste it, who concurred that the dish was beyond hope and I thought we would end up eating out. However, because I had invested time and money in this already, I decided to forge ahead and ended up increasing the spices, adding a bit of sugar, increasing the amount of tomato paste, and I let a slow simmer in my electric skillet do the rest. Fortunately, that's what the recipe needed, to go the full 3 hours for the wine flavor to subside. This dish is full of rich flavor and aroma. BF really liked it, but we both still agreed that the wine was still too predominant. Next time (and yes I will do this again) I will cut the red wine by half the suggested amount and that should be more suitable to our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
What a great recipe. So much better than others I've tried that just seemed too much like stew. I have a great tip for the herb bouquet that I learned from Tyler Florence on Food Network. Instead of using cheesecloth to wrap the herbs, take a slice of uncooked bacon and wrap it around a bundle of rosemary and another piece to wrap around some sprigs of thyme. Cook these in your pan as the first step until you render out some of the bacon fat and the bacon is nicely browned. Remove the bacon/herb bundles and proceed as directed. You then can add the bundles back when directed in the recipe to simmer in the sauce. Since the recipe calls for using bacon drippings this really works well. I opted to chop my fresh parsley and add it at the end with the mushrooms. I used good quality beef base to make my broth and as a substitute for the demi glace. I doubled the sauce ingredients as recommended by other reviewers which is definitely the way to go. Just make sure you have a good amount of meat so the ratio is correct. Served with mashed potatoes (to soak up all that gravy) and peas and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Excellent! Made it in an hour, substituting ingredients I didn't have. Husband raved & picky teen loved it. This is how: Didn't have fresh mushroom, so soaked dried shitake mushroom in 2 cups of warm beef broth. Browned "stew cut" beef (A MUST, since it lends to fuller flavor of beef!) real good on all sides in 3 tbs butter in PRESSURE COOKER; took it out, and added twice the sherry and onion in the pot. While it was sauteeing, squeezed, then sliced the shitake. Didn't have demi glace, which is concentrated brown stock that is reduced to meaty flavored glaze, so curmbled up 2 bouillion cubes into the in the beef broth that reconstituted mushroom slices, added 6 tbs flour, 2 tbs tomato paste, then poured into the pot. When it began boiling, poured 2 cups burgendy wine, 1 tspn each dried rosemary and thyme, a bay leaf, sliced mushroom, and beef. Tightened the pressure cooker lid, and cooked for 30 minutes total, reducing the heat to LOW after the first steam. Meat was flavorful and tender, sauce was infused perfectly with dried herbs, and plentiful. Served with a box of ziti (only carb I had on hand) that was boiled in salted water, drained and butter added. Tasted just as good the next day! Keeper. Thank you Elliana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
This is a very nice dish. The flavour is mild. To intensify the flavour the sauce needs to be boiled down. I added extra wine, omitted water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARNZ01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Okay, so I committed culinary blasphemy; I did not have the time to devote to all of the steps in this dish, so I used a crockpot instead. I whisked all the liquid ingredients together with the flour and poured it over the unbrowned meat and veggies. I also used dried herbs from the jar instead of the bouquet garni. I did omit the bacon fat, but added some chopped pre-cooked bacon. The dish turned out great - my greatest critics (teenage children) loved it. I will try the traditional cooking method next time just to see if it truly makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
A little pricey to make, but turned out great for dinner with the boss. Will use for special dinners. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
This recipe is one of the best! My husband went on and on about how good it was. He said it rivaled one of his favorite restaurants. Wow! I'd give it more stars if I could. I did have to make a couple of changes because of the ingredients I had on hand (didn't have demi glace, for one). I served it with mashed potatoes, peas, and carrots. The gravy was great on the potatoes! I'll be making this recipe often. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dilley, Texas, USA
Living In: Pearsall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This was ok, but nothing to fall over about. Make sure to use good quality wine. I thought the tomato paste was a bit overpowering. I'll keep trying other beef burgundy recipes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States