Beef, Burgundy Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
Very flavourful although I didn't use bacon drippings nor demi glace. Three pounds of cubed top round set on low in the slow cooker for 3.75 hours: Extremely tender and was probably ready after 2.5-3 hours. I'd doubled the sauce, but it was much more than we (two) needed--even though we're very generous when ladeling on the sauce. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HIJIMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I literally just finished cooking this dish I will eat it tomorrow since it is 1:20 in the morning but cooking is the only thing that calms me. I took one bite and was instantly satisfied I to suplimented the demi glaze with a little more broth and added peppercorns and a little terragon vinegar which worked out amazingly. I only cooked about a pound of meat which was more than enough and I will pile it on a rice cup which looks beautiful. 100% SATISFIED with this dish I will eat great tomorrow! Cook this you will not be disatisfied, hearty and delicious yet refined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
With this recipe, Elliana has come up with a classic and near authentic French beef stew, or "Boeuf a la Bourguignonne" and has the perfect blend and balance of flavors. Doubling the sauce is not necessary; there is more than enough. The sherry is not critical if you don't have it, and beef base or a little reduced beef stock could easily be substituted for the demi glace. I added some fresh minced garlic with the onion and used a French Pinot Noir, though any full-bodied red wine would work. I used top round, but I think I would have been more pleased with just regular ol' stew meat or a rump roast, cut into 2-inch chunks. Probably the most useful suggestion I could offer regards the cooking method itself--rather than simmering on the stovetop for 3 hours, I'll at that point in the preparation finish it in a 300-325 degree oven for a few hours. The heat will be more uniform, it will free up the stovetop, and elimate the need for stirring or peeking. I served this with smashed new potatoes and "Shaved Brussels Sprouts with Bacon and Almonds" from this site. Not a fancy dish, just comfort food at its finest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
If I could give this recipe 10 stars I would!!! I doubled the sauce and it was mouth watering. I made this for the hubby on Valentine's Day and he LOVED it!! Thank you for a recipe that I will use until the day I die!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gina brown

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
5 star YES..excellant recipe..added a few of my own touches and I am wonderfully pleased it is in the oven now..I am simmering it in there in my ole time cast iron dutch oven..I have tasted the juices and they are divine and it has just begun cooking so I KNOW it is going to be AWESOME...THANK YOU so much for this recipe..I used chuckeye steak for my meats cut into 1 inch pieces and they wil be wonderfuuly tender and have a great flavor...Bon apetite...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sunrise, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
While the flavor was pretty good. We have had much better. Although, I could not find demi-glace in the market I went to so maybe that would have made a difference. Instead I used a tablespoon of "Better than boulion". I will probably make this again using the proper ingredients. Also, for the record. I did not find this too salty as other reviewers mentioned and we are pretty sensitive to salt these days since we have started reducing our sodium intake. Thanks for the recipe. we will keep looking for demi-glace I have cooked with it before and think it would make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
This was so good. Instead of the demi glace, the herb bouquet and the onions I just used a package of onion soup mix. It made it a lot easier (maybe not as good) but my family ate every bite. I served it with mashed potatoes with the sauce on top. The meat was very tender and the sauce is so delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
I thought this was very tasty but I found the sauce a bit thick. I followed the recipe to a 'T', right down to the demi glace. The flavour was wonderful but since I only cook for myself, it was a heavy meal to have two nights in a row.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
I followed this recipe minus the fresh herbs, I went by someone else's comments and did the dried herbs. It's true, you have to love red wine to enjoy this recipe. I for one, couldn't stand all the different smells going on or the taste of the sauce, but my boyfriend said it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KO

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Holladay, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
This is a killer recipe. My picky family said this was resturant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States