Beef, Burgundy Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This was delicious, and my beef was sooo tender! I made some substitutions based on what I had. I used a little beef consume instead of the glace, and I used a little brandy instead of the sherry wine. After browning and combining everything, I put the pot in the oven at 300 degrees for three hours. Absolutely a great way to get amazing flavor and tenderness out of a lowly cut of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
The flavor and aroma was okay. The meat was tender but dry. I was expecting the sauce to have some clarity, not murkey in color. At that rate, I could have just used Cream of Mushroom soup and maybe a few add in's for the same look. I made my own demi glace (Beef Stock & Cornstarch)and used dry herbs in place of fresh and omitted the Sherry. Other then that I followed the recipe. This recipe did't present as well as pictured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Excellent! I followed this recipe exactly and wouldn't change anything. I think the demi glace is worth getting if you can - but don't skip this recipe if you can't find it or don't want to buy it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
I lost my family recipe for this dish so I tried this one, and I have to say I think it is much better. I'm glad I lost the old one! I didn't have demi glace, but the other sauce ingredients are what is used to make a demi glace, so I don't know that it was missed all that much. I didn't cook the beef in bacon grease to reduce the fat, and I used dried herbs because that's what I had. I also used stew meat pieces, as that's what I've always used, and they turned out very moist and tender. I reduced the amount of meat to 1 lb. so I could have more sauce. Since it takes a few hours to cook, I made this the day before, and when I reheated it I added the mushrooms and another 3/4 c beef stock because it had thickened too much. Served over homemade spaetzle (the only way to eat beef burgundy, in my opinion) it was heavenly! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Addison, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Very good! Have requests for this dish a second time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oceline

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This recipe is great. I tested it for a party using 1 serving. I didn't even have all the right ingredients and it was wonderful. I'm going to serve at a formal sit-down dinner for 16 this christmas. It is very savory and fills the kitchen with wonderful aromas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I love this recipe. I followed it to a T and would not change a thing. Worth trying!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This is one of my favorite recipes ever. Now I even make double the sauce and freeze it to use just as a sauce when we have steaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Very good, but I felt it needed more seasoning. I'll make this again but I'll used more herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Just not enough superlatives for this one!!!! I cut up a boneless chuck roast, used 16 oz of mushrooms and popped it all in the pressure cooker. 25 minutes later out came perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States