Beef, Burgundy Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
I used double-strength beef broth which meant I could omit the demi glaze and stew meat instead of beef round. With all the simmering, you really couldn't tell I used a cheaper cut of meat. This was SO good. I served this over buttered egg noodles--NO leftovers. We ate every bite of this. Amazing dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I thought this was OK. Not bad but not great. I did think the wine flavor was a little over powering even after cooking for 3 hours. I don't know that I'll make this again, because I don't think that it's worth the effort but it wasn't horrible. I had a lot of leftovers that I think will probably not get eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This recipe prompted me to make the Demi Glace.. so I had homemade and it was awesome. The sauce has a unique taste that is out of this world.. I served it over noodles. When I finished browning the meat, I put it directly in the crock pot.. ended up being fall apart tender! I too, added some garlic and used baby bella mushrooms.. I will make this again many times! Very impressive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Delicious! I add libbed a little however..... I put the beef cubes into the crock pot with beef broth,red wine, bay leaves, minced garlic, salt and pepper and let it cook on low all day. Then I sauteed onions and mushrooms with butter and a slice of bacon until tender. I added the broth/wine mix with the addition of some heavy cream and brought it to a boil. With some additional salt, pepper, garlic powder and seasoned salt. I added wondra to thicken it and served it over buttery wide egg noodles. WOW. YUMMO! Next time I may braise the beef cubes before crock potting them, but they were fall apart tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A-NET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Stevensville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Lovely, brimming with great flavor dish. While I didn't have all the fresh herbs for the bouquet garni, I improvised with dried parsley and thyme. The fresh rosemary from my garden bush sent the flavors over the top! I did add 4 large minced garlic cloves with the chopped onions, personal preference. Slow cooked in the crockpot for 6 hours. Served over wide egg noodles. Fantastic on this cool October's eve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Excellent! I tossed it all in the crock pot and came back 3 hrs later (on high). I didn't use the flour and the sauce was still a nice consistency due to the tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawnjo13

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
We loved the recipe. We ate all the leftovers. I putit it in the oven instead of doing all the cooking on the stove. Added pearl onions and carrots. It was fantastic. Couldn't find demi glace but used a browning sauce its place. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rockford, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Hannaford, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Excellent dish; The changes I made were small. I used baby bellas for the mushrooms. Merlot replaced burgundy because we had opened a bottle of merlot the night before. Top round sirloin was on sale, so I used that for the beef. We chopped up the herbs and threw them in without botheringing to bundle them. The meat was so tender and the sauce so good. Every year we share a beach house on Cape Hatteras, and we take turns making dinner. This will be what we make on our night to cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maryb
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This was absolutely wonderful. I made a couple of very small changes - I added some minced garlic with the onion, and baked in the oven at 275 for about 3.5 hours. This was a little too long, I will try a couple of hours next time. The flavor of this was so rich and delicious. Having just made Julia Child's classic - and very time consuming - Boeuf Bourguignon just a couple of weeks ago, I can say without a doubt that my whole family preferred this version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This was delicious, and my beef was sooo tender! I made some substitutions based on what I had. I used a little beef consume instead of the glace, and I used a little brandy instead of the sherry wine. After browning and combining everything, I put the pot in the oven at 300 degrees for three hours. Absolutely a great way to get amazing flavor and tenderness out of a lowly cut of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States