Beef, Burgundy Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I rarely follow a recipe to the t. The same was true here. Gave 5 stars for a good foundation. I used a cup of Pomegranate juice and 1/2 of grape juice since I didn't have wine or sherry. Didn't use demi glace. I used salt, pepper and garlic powder - can't imagine cooking without those. Since everyone at my house doesn't like mushrooms I topped the dish with sauted mushrooms for my husband. Served it on a thin slice of french bread with mashed potatoes and steamed broccoli. Family licked the plates clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Yes, this made my husband my Birthday hero. He didn't save the day he just followed this recipe and made my Birthday dinner something to slurp over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This is a great recipe. Gave made it a couple times now. I double everything but the meat and mushrooms so there is sauce to serve over rice. I don't remove the meat from the skillet, I simple keep adding things in order starting when the meat is half done which works nicely. Also I use my stainless steel single serving tea ball for the herbs instead of cheesecloth. Wonderful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
We loved this! Only our version used sliced venison and olive oil (didn't have bacon or drippings). A do-over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Rave reviews for this recipe. Huge hit with company. Doubled everything but stew meat, flour...but dredged meat before browning, onions, and herbs. Cooked 2 hours in the oven at 325, then the 3rd hour uncovered. Found the Demi Glacé so used that. Served with egg noodles and haricot covert. Very special dinner. Same ingredients as Julia Child's Beef Bourguignon, but a bit easier to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I expected a great dish...it wasn't worth the time or effort
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Davidson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Wonderful. Didn't have fresh herbs. Used 1 tsp each of dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This is really good, but it took about 4 hours in my cast iron pan for the meat to become fork tender. I made exactly as written, but I think I will make two changes next time. First, cut the meat into smaller chunks so it will cook quicker, and also reduce the amount of rosemary to 1 sprig. I'm not a lover of it and it was the dominant flavor in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I used beef base rather than demi glace and I didn't have fresh herbs on hand so I used a few t. of l'herb de Provance I had as well as baby bella mushrooms and finished it off in the oven for 2 hours at 325. I made an herb butter with the same herb blend and toasted some good hearty semolina bread to serve with this. It was divine and perfect for a chilly winter night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Received rave reviews. Served as Christmas Eve meal for 12. It's amazing how far a 4 1/2 bottom round roast will go. Meat so tender, it cut with a fork. I added Marjoram and it gave that "WOW, what's in this" flavor. Definatley use the Sherry, it gives the sauce richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ren

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States