Beef Burgundy III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Very good. I didn't have golden mushroom soup, so I used plain cream of mushroom. I also added fresh garlic and some garlic salt and pepper because it was a little more bland than I normally like. Also, I used beef tenderloin coated with flour instead of sirloin. I doubled the sauce and used merlot. The way I made it was a 4 star, but I'm giving 5 stars because I can imagine the golden mushroom soup would be alot better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicole26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Great dish! I doubled the sauce portion (butter, soup, wine)and added a teaspoon of beef bullion. Prior to searing the meat, I sprinkled with steak seasoning. Very tasty, very tender, yet mushrooms remained firm enough to enjoy... Thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Very disappointing - quite bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I dredged the beef cubes in a little flour salt/pepper. Seared them a few at a time in hot oil. Removed from the pan and did the mushrooms and onions. Deglazed the pan with half a bottle of a cheap cabernet (Sutter Home) and cooked for a few minutes. Added 1/2 cup of water to the Cream of Chicken soup, added dried parsley and stirred that into the sauce. Readded the meat and veggies and put that into the oven for 3 hours on 325. The meat was tender and delicious!!!! Served with egg noodles, salad and veggie. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Floured and added seasoned salt and pepper, then browned. Added extra soup and wine for extra sauce. Served over rice. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This is delicious! Regular cream of mushroom soup works very well if you can't find golden mushroom. I used baby portabellas and they were delicious as well. I also used 1/2 bottle of Red Truck Pinot Noir, and omitted the butter. It does need to simmer for about 2 hours. When you mix everything together, the sauce looks very pink, but after simmering, it is brown. I simmered uncovered after 2 hours to thicken the sauce, and served over baked potatoes. This is one of my favorite winter recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrillville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Quite possibly the best meal I've ever made! I had to use a chuck roast, and regualr cream of mushroom soup, because that's what I had. I followed another cook's suggestion and dredged the meat in peppered flour before searing it with fresh rosemary and thyme. The rosemary and burgundy, together, gave it such a rich, heady falvor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I have an extremely picky husband and this was one dinner he rated "excellent". I did add a couple of bay leaves, increased wine to 1 cup, using cabernet, sauteed garlic before adding meat and added some thyme. Will definitely make for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I only tasted a few bites but it had a good flavor. I did what others suggested and sauteed the meat with a little garlic as well. I would make this again but next time I will probably use a different cut of beef. I used stew meat, which was the closest thing I could find to sirloin tips, and although it wasn't tough it just didn't have the tenderness I was looking for. I also seasoned my meat with a little seasoned salt before searing it. I may not do that next time because, with the golden mushroom soup, it seemed a tad bit on the salty side. It was perfect for my husband who loves salt, but it was just too much for me. I cooked egg noodles on the side and made french cut green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Married_Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
very good and EASY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States