Beef Burgundy Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Very tasty and worth making. I don't use canned soup so I made my own mushroom soup and used fresh mushrooms. I browned my meat in a skillet with the onion and mushrooms and then deglazed the pan with the cup of beef bullion after that I followed the recipe as written. Next time I will cut the cook time to 2 hours other then that I won't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
a few changes....do NOT drain mushrooms and put mixture over the noodles rather then mixing them in. Can also use onion soup mix if you do not have soup mix mentioned. I use this recipe per 1 1/2 lb meat and cook in roasting pan for 2 hrs. or more at 275 degrees -- check at that time and if you find it too thick add a little water or more wine. If you don't want to use wine use apple juice. sorry - couldn't get custom version area to work. This is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I made a few changes to mine and it was awesome! 2 lbs. beef steak cut in cubes 1 tsp Italian seasoning 2 cubes beef bullion 1 medium onion 1 family size can cream of mushroom soup Put in a slow cooker until the meat is very tender.I added 8ozs of fresh mushrooms cut in large chunks about an hour before it was close to being done. Then 1 cup of burgundy wine about the last 1/2 hour before it's done. I used a homemade egg noodle which I put in at the sametime as the wine. It was fantastic. I love cooking with wine and the slowcooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Changed my recipe up some but still used the base of this recipe. cut meat lbs down. Kept roast whole for time reasons. Left lemon flovar out. Uped temp to 350 put in a 1.5 inch flat bottom casserole dish with foil top. Added water in middle of time. Removed meat added the cooked noodles to casserole dish and stir then cut meat and placed on top for presentation. Came out quick and worth while
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hinesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
This dish is absolutely delicious and so easy! The important thing is to keep the dish VERY tightly sealed when cooking. It will cook nicely in its own juices. Pick a meat with a moderate amount of fat. Cook for less time if reducing the recipe. It really is wonderful, and I am picky..........EDIT....... BAH! DRAT! I made this dish at a friend's house and it started burning at 3 hours ( I smelled it)... I realize now that the secret to my success was the SHALLOW PAN I was cooking in.. A 5x5x2 glass dish, tightly sealed with foil. I tried a deep dutch oven and it DID NOT WORK. I hope this helps you. xxx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
This is very good for how easy it is -- to avoid the bad experiences of others cover TIGHTLY. I've done this in a deep baking dish sealed with tinfoil, and I've actually had to remove the tinfoil towards the end to get it to reduce, certainly never too dry. We also increase the wine a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2002
WOW what a dissapointment! I'm not sure how the positive reviewers got this one to turn out. First, the soup mixture is very thick to pour over 2lbs of beef roast! Where is the water or liquid ingrediant? I mean, after cooking it for 4 hours with no water? How can the meat stay tender? Not wanting to alter the recipe too much, I even added a 1/2 cup of water to the soup mix. Not even 2 hours later, I checked it and the soup/gravy mixture had cooked away! The meat was burned and there was no way I could ever think about adding noodles. Maybe the cooking temp is too high or too long(i cooked it as directed)? We ended up throwing the burnt meat (and what was left of the "gravy"...most of it had crusted to the baking dish) and cooking a pizza instead. I would not recommend nor will I make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
I don't know if I did something wrong or what but my meat came out very dry and I didn't even cook it for th full time. I think I'd probably get better results by doing this in the slowcooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2000
Great to make for company! I substituted "herb & garlic" soup mix and added baby carrots. Also used pearl onions. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States